Tunnel Vision

You go to the Alps for a two-week holiday, enjoy the scenery and the wide-open spaces, and come back with grabbed images of something entirely different.

That’s how I see the world. My Eye is never closed to an opportunity, and I spot images in the unlikeliest of places. The Swiss are ingenious at creating up-lifts for the ski season, and short tunnels often link the top stations of lifts with the pistes and other facilities. Chair lifts are not usually in use in summer, but most other forms of uphill transport are available for walkers and mountaineers.

We had just stepped off a small gondola at Sunnega and were walking through a tunnel to the restaurant for lunch when I spotted this opportunity. No time to change settings or think – just ‘grab’. It turned out reasonably well. The Lumix Lx100 is proving to be a very capable little camera.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tunnel Vision

  1. paula graham says:

    Yea…great tunnel you found yourself. In my book, you cannot go wrong with photographing tunnels…so full of symbolism.

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes Paula, tunnels seem irresistible don’t they. They create a frame. My Lumix coped so well with the exposure here too. The tunnel walls looked solid black when I first viewed the image back home, but when I clicked on ‘Auto’ in ACR, suddenly I had that series of rings, and surprisingly I hadn’t completely lost detail in the highlights. A nice surprise.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    A smashing image Andy. I’m finding my Sony A7 is the same. Remarkably adept at capturing the image when you’ve not thought about exposure or shutter speed and with Lightroom and Photoshop, the details can be recovered, they’ve been captured by the sensor despite apparently blacked out shadows. I haven’t worked out a way of recovering blown highlights though. I think that’s beyond the scope of any camera.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. As I’ve just said in a reply to Paula, the walls of the tunnel were solid black at first viewing but the Auto button on ACR revealed the detailed rings on the walls of the tunnel. So much detail that I thought I had lost. And just enough detail in the light at the end of the tunnel. This was shot with matrix metering, my default setting, clearly it does a darned good job.

  3. Even your picture within the picture works! Bravo!

  4. Cecilia says:

    This photo pulls me in …! Greetings to Switzerland!

  5. bluebrightly says:

    Yes! Sometimes you have to be quick, and flexible. It isn’t easy, but you certainly managed it here. I read about the camera – interesting! I had a (very) different Lumix for a while and liked it very much. Enjoy!

    • LensScaper says:

      Whenever it is sensible to do so, the camera is cradled in my left ready to use. All I have to do is switch on and shoot. The only proviso to that is that it assumes that the controls are set for normal use. One of the things I am inclined to forget so often is to re-set the camera’s settings to ‘normal’ if I have made a major adjustment to ISO, or F number or something else. If the camera is set back to an approximation of normal then I am in a better position to capture a ‘grab’ shot. But remembering to do that is not always easy. What surprised me about this ‘grab’ is that the camera’s controls were able to select an exposure that meant detail was retained pretty well in shadow and highlight.(the camera was set for aperture priority and matrix metering by the way).

Comments are closed.