Shapes

First impressions are often wrong, sometimes very wrong. My first glance as I approached this building did not inspire me. But when I crossed the road my opinion changed. Completely. I loved it.

This is the Towner Art Gallery, Eastbourne which we were visiting to see ‘Ravillious and Co: The Pattern of Friendship’. It is a brilliant exhibition that explores in great detail the collaborations and relationships between Ravillious and his contemporaries in the 1920s, 30s and early 40s. The exhibition ends on 17 September but will travel to Sheffield Millennium Gallery from 7 October 2017 to 7 January 2018 and then to Compton Verney next year from March to June.

It’s not often that a new (to me) venue will excite both for what is being exhibited inside and for the structure of the building itself. This place did exactly that.

I was very lucky to see this on a sunny early Autumn day when the shadows were deep and the facade bright. The light was just right. All I had to do was find compositions that explored the inter-relationships between the various ‘shapes’ that were on show.

I’m quite certain that on another visit, other ideas will present themselves. In the meantime enjoy these images and I would be interested to know which one you prefer of the four shown above. Click on an image to see an enlargement.

The Towner Gallery opened in 2009. It was designed by internationally acclaimed Rick Mather Architects and was awarded an Architectural Achievement Award.

 

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Shapes

  1. shoreacres says:

    The exhibition is one that very much appeals; I’d enjoy seeing it. As for the building, in a forced choice I’d take the third photo — for the curve, and for the landscape beyond it.

  2. bluebrightly says:

    I prefer the first, but it’s nice to see the others, and have more context. And then the third, too.

  3. alan frost says:

    Interesting building Andy. I don’t know it, but from your description and images it sounds like its well worth a visit – particularly in light of the current exhibition. I prefer the third image but would probably have cropped out the white house in the bottom left hand corner.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Alan. I’ve amended the reference. It was difficult finding a position from which to capture the building in context. This was the best I could do with limited time. It was when I converted it to B&W that I had to think about the white house bottom left. I was tempted to leave it out, but then I considered it as a little ‘echo’ of the main building. It would be interesting to hear what a ‘judge’ has to say about it.

  4. paula graham says:

    Oh Yea, love the building also and indeed your ‘take’ on it . Super stuff.

  5. Meanderer says:

    It’s very eye-catching. The first two look like a face with a winking eye – or an owl.

  6. Sue says:

    Love those shadows! I would enjoy that exhibition, but not able to get there, alas

  7. Chillbrook says:

    An amazing building Andy! Superb!

  8. You did a good job capturing the abstraction of that modern building.

  9. sixpixx says:

    No1 for me. Shapes more important than context. But, do love them all.

    • LensScaper says:

      I imagine you may well have visited this gallery – not too far for you. No 1 is the one I like best too – it focuses on just four windows and their inter-relationships. I love the ‘serifs’ on the corners of the two central windows

Comments are closed.