Goat Skin Throws

Our first morning on holiday in Saas Fee in the Swiss Alps started off with this image; shot on the terrace of our hotel immediately after breakfast. One of three seats cushioned by goat skin throws.

Saas Fee is a high Alpine traffic-free village advertised as the Pearl of the Alps. It’s the next valley eastwards from the Zermatt Valley. Compared to the bustle of Zermatt, Saas Fee is quiet, unspoilt, relaxed and not so well-known as the Zermatt valley; and it’s surrounded by a magnificent horseshoe of high peaks. I know the area well and I’ve photographed it many times. This year I was determined to find something different to photograph and the texture, flow and colours of this throw (and the two others below) got me off to a good start.

A herd of goats grazes the slopes of Hannig high above Saas Fee, cattle can be found in the lower fields close to the village. Every animal with a bell round its neck. Strangely didn’t see any Black Face Sheep here; they are common in the Zermatt valley where I don’t recall ever seeing cattle. Each valley is different, in so many ways.

 

 

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Goat Skin Throws

  1. Beautiful. Wish they didn’t make me feel sad for the goats.

    • LensScaper says:

      I was immediately struck by the beauty of these skins. Yes, I think we feel closer to the animal when the hair is attached to the skin. It’s easier to feel detached with a garment make of wool than to see the woolly sheepskin entire.

  2. oneowner says:

    These detail shots are just gorgeous, Andy.

  3. bluebrightly says:

    Oh, I do love these, one is more beautiful than the next. It’s nice to have your brief descriptions, too, both of the place and your thoughts.

  4. paula graham says:

    Beautiful complimentary colours in the skins, bless the goats who’s coats these were.

  5. shoreacres says:

    The color variations are interesting. I can’t quite tell, but it looks to me as though they’re akin to buffalo hair in texture, and a little rougher than the sheepskins I’m accustomed to. Brown and gray is such a pleasing combination. No wonder you were pleased to find them.

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes, the hair is rougher and longer than wool and it doesn’t curl like sheep wool does, and I think it is probably a lot less dense. I loved the colours, later the same day I saw the same colours on goats up on Hannig.

  6. oh these are so fine and beautiful…i also love the tones you’ve captured….smiles hedy 🙂

Comments are closed.