The Great Reveal

Back from two weeks in the Swiss Alps and it’s time to start working  my way through over 1,300 new image files, plus iPhone images. That’s going to take some time!

We were blessed with thirteen days of dry weather (unusual in the Alps), but there were a couple of occasions when it rained overnight. When you wake after overnight rain up high in the mountains, the world you look out on is likely to be swathed in cloud.

Don’t despair. Get the camera out, find a vantage point and be patient – and the clouds will start to lift and part. And if you are lucky you will observe The Great Reveal, as peak by peak the mountains shed their cloud coverings.

It is always a remarkable sight. These images were taken an hour apart, and the reason the sky is darker in one than the other is due to the direction of view. The second image was taken almost into the sun, the first at about ninety degrees away from the sun – note the cross on its summit.

I’ve lost count of the number of times I have been to the Alps, but all told it is well over thirty times, winter and summer. The mountains are now like old friends, well-loved and easily remembered. I still feel compelled to capture some of them yet again, but what I have tried to concentrate on this year are the finer details in wood, stone, rock and ice and as the next few weeks go by I will be posting images of what has captured my imagination.

And, of course, catching up with all those I follow – I’ve had a three-week break, which was welcome. It’s now exactly six years since I started this blog – I had no real idea what I was taking on or where it would lead. Click here to see that very first post.

Some of you have followed me for much of that time and we have got acquainted as members of this great community of photographers. I truly value our friendships. Starting this blog turned out to be one of the smartest things I have done. There have been 832 Posts, 2272 Images uploaded and now nearly 2,500 followers and subscribers. Those statistics are mind-boggling! Every day a new gallery of images lands on my desktop – a constant stream of inspiration and creativity. Every day I learn something new.

A very warm welcome to all who have started to follow me in recent weeks – I hope you enjoy what you see and it’s always good to receive your comments. And don’t forget that you can always click on an image to see a higher quality enlargement. It’s worth it.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in MountainScape, Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Great Reveal

  1. Mike says:

    Great stuff Andy. I just had my 6th WP anniversary as well. We are cyber mates, mate.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    Congratulations on your 6 years of blogging Andy. I feel very privileged to have got to know you through your blog and to have had your help preparing my submissions to the RPS. It was such a pleasure to finally meet you in person as it always seems to be when blogging friends meet. There’s something personal about a blog that ensures that if you follow each other, there’s a very good chance you’re going to get on in person.
    I don’t envy you the challenge of sorting through all those images but of course I do. How wonderful to sit and watch the mountains reveal themselves.
    I will very much look forward to your posts to come Andy.
    All the very best
    Adrian

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. It was good to meet up with you earlier this summer, and admire your work ‘in hand’ as opposed to on-line. My fingers are firmly crossed for you. We had a great holiday, and after so many trips to that part of the Alps I still found an entirely new high walk which you will see and read more about in a week or two.

  3. oneowner says:

    Congratulations on your 6th anniversary! I predict you’ll have some awesome photos coming soon.

  4. bluebrightly says:

    So well said, and your generosity shines. Your photos do too – I looked through quite a few yesterday on Instagram and was so impressed. Congratulations on all your hard work, and the rewards you have reaped.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you so much Lynn. I’m pleased you enjoyed the Instagram feed – it’s fun to post there too, nothing brilliant photographically speaking but it provides a commentary on life, providing I remember to capture images on the iPhone, which is something I’m not always particularly good at doing.

      • bluebrightly says:

        It’s a different animal, isn’t it? Some people seem to straddle both worlds, but I think most are primarily, or only in one or the other. And then there’s Flickr, which I also like. But Instagram, for me, is about taking photos with your phone and posting them right away. It doesn’t have to be that way, but it seems to lend itself to that most readily. I’d do more there if my *%#!! phone’s internet service wasn’t terrible at home. But who’s complaining? We have an embarrassment of riches.

        • LensScaper says:

          I agree with you about Instagram, Lynn. I know a lot of photographers use it to showcase work shot on their main cameras and I follow quite a few who have given up on their WordPress blog completely and just post to Instagram (and maybe other places I don’t go, like Facebook and Google+). I don’t see Instagram that way. For me it is for the immediate snaps (think Polaroid) that I shoot when out. They may be quirky, they are snippets of the world around us.

  5. paula graham says:

    Well done..6 years!! and all I can say is: Wow, and I am looking forward to a few more where these came from! Your first photo was indeed a promise of what was going to be a mega impressive blog.

  6. Congratulations on your anniversary, Andy. I think my first Like on your blog was on Monday, 20 February, 2012. So I can almost count myself as one of your early adapters. It’s been a lovely ride.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Linda. I can’t confirm the date of your first ‘like’ but I do very clearly remember you contacting me with a Liebster award for my blog. I find it hard to believe that is five years ago now. Time flies far too fast. The ride will continue, it’s going to take some time to work my way through the recent collection of new images.

  7. John Linn says:

    So another 66 years to go?

    Looking at the first image full size I see a cross at the peak… nice detail that I am sure some might miss.

    Thanks Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks John. glad you spotted the Cross on that summit. I’ve stood there at least three times, once after ascending it, with my daughter, via a ‘Via Ferrata’ – a route protected by chains, handrails and metal pegs anchored into the rock.

  8. Heide says:

    Congratulations on your big milestone, Andy! And congratulations also on these beautiful images, and especially on having had the patience to wait for them. Your patience was well-rewarded, methinks. I can’t wait to see where the NEXT six years will take you and your wonderful blog!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Heide. Where indeed will we all be in another six years, and how will photography and cameras and phones have developed by then. Hopefully I will still be on-line. It’s the interactions with people like yourself and all the others I have met on-line that makes a Blog such a worthwhile endeavour.

  9. shoreacres says:

    It’s been such a pleasure to get to know you, Andy, and to follow your blog. I’ve learned so much from you over the years, and I’m looking forward to learning even more in the future. Your commentary always is as interesting as your photos are beautiful or intriguing — what more could a reader ask?

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s very kind of you Linda – thank you. Someone once said that within every scientist there is an artist waiting to emerge. What I’ve been able to achieve on-line would never have been possible while I was still working as a Doctor. It’s been such a worthwhile experience to share images and stories and to find a new gallery of images waiting for me on my desktop every morning. We all need to be inspired creatively and I had never really realized how beneficial a photographic Blog might be – and it wouldn’t have been so successful, or enjoyable, without the input and interaction with people like your good self.

Please feel free to comment, and join the discussion.

