Black Down again

We were back on Black Down last week, on a day of fleeting sunshine, and this is the panoramic view from the southern promontory looking out over the South Downs National Park and West Sussex.

This viewpoint is called The Temple of the Winds, named after a Bronze Age circular bank. The poet Alfred Lord Tennyson loved Black Down and must have stood on this spot many times.

This was our third visit to Black Down – click here and here to see those earlier posts. On each occasion I have photographed this view but not posted those images, which are shown below for the first time.

The real reason for going back a third time was that we expected the Heathers to be in flower and we were not disappointed. The two images below are straight out of the iPhone with a bit pf processing for Instagram where you will find me as @andyhooker.

This is a really special place and one that we will keep re-visiting.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Black Down again

  1. What beautiful landscape and views! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Chillbrook says:

    That really is a stunning view Andy! Wonderful photographs. I haven’t figured out Instagram yet. I really should try but I’m barely keeping up with WordPress just now so perhaps Instagram is going to have to wait a couple of months.
    When in Cornwall I was always drawn to the Wheal Coates engine house. Surrounded by heathers it made for some great colour.

    • LensScaper says:

      It is a beautiful walk and the good news is that it is a pretty level walk from the car park so not too onerous. Instagram is basically very easy but there is an entire industry of image processing and manipulation for smart phones. Vast majority of my images just have a tweak or two within the Instagram software and then they go on line. I know a lot of people import their images from laptops into their phones for posting on Instagram. I haven’t got my head around that yet. It’s nice to keep something simple for once!

  3. oneowner says:

    This looks like the kind of place I would keep returning, too. I would bet it is beautiful any season of the year. Very nice shots, Andy.

  4. bluebrightly says:

    Are those tall pines unusual for your area? I can see why you like the place, it’s an expansive view. Heather has never appealed to me, and I’ve only seen it, really, as a garden plant. I know that if I see it in situ, growing where it’s supposed to, it will make more sense to me – that I can see here.

    • LensScaper says:

      Pine trees are patchy I would say, they prefer a neutral or acidic soil. But they do add something special to the landscape in my opinion. Heathers are often thought of as a traditional garden plant often grown in rock gardens, but they also cover high moorland and therefore cover vast areas of Scotland and other areas like the Yorkshire moors for example. In flower they add a swathe of colour, but for much of the year they are rather uninteresting.

  5. paula graham says:

    Tremendous views, well framed and exposed. Lovely.

  6. shoreacres says:

    I think I remember you speaking of this place and saying you wanted to come back to see the heather. It certainly was well worth the trip. I’m not sure what I expected heather to look like, but this isn’t it. Funny, how we can form ideas of things that bear so little relationship to reality.

    Of course, the only reference for heather I’ve had is the song, “Will You Go, Lassie, Go?” with its references to wild mountain thyme and blooming heather. I’m glad to see the plants are as lovely as the song.

Please feel free to comment, and join the discussion.

