Turbine Hall

Three more images from the Turbine Hall in Tate Modern. This is a vast space that draws one’s attention. On a sunny day light streams through the roof lights casting long shadows and highlights across the balconies and the walls themselves.

The first of these three images was taken on my Lumix LX100, the other two were shot on an iPhone 6S. The last image below shows the projecting office box that was seen in the previous post Two-way Observation.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Turbine Hall

  1. Chillbrook says:

    The Turbine Hall is one of my favourite spaces in London for so many reasons. A short cycle ride from Islington to St Paul’s and across the bridge, I was a regular at Tate Modern. The light and shadow you’ve captured from the sunlight streaming through those roof girders is brilliant. Wonderfully abstract.

    • LensScaper says:

      It’s a great space and one of my favourite walks to get there is along Southbank, and the walk from there onwards to London Bridge is also fill of photo opportunities with all the developments in recent years

  2. Sue says:

    Interestingly geometric, and great play of light, Andy

  3. paula graham says:

    Super place I love, must say, never seen these great shadows like that before. Super

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Paula. it’s a special place. I’ve lost count of the number of times I have been there in recent years. Always something new to see…

  4. shoreacres says:

    I’m especially fond of those shadows in the last image, and the variety of lines in the first is appealing. I wish I could see photos like this without thinking either of prison or of poems like Carl Sandburg’s “Four Preludes on Playthings of the Wind,” but I just can’t. I know how much you (and others) enjoy the Tate, but I’ve yet to feel drawn to it. Since I’ve never experienced it for myself, I can’t judge, of course. But I’ll still enjoy looking at your photos of it, and enjoy your enjoyment!

    • LensScaper says:

      I can understand how your thinking works, Linda – there is undoubtedly a hint of ‘institution’ about the lines and a suggestion of it in the overhead windows. I suspect that is down to photography’s two dimensional rendering of a three dimensional place. Experiencing the reality is required to see the place in a different light. It is vast – cathedral perhaps.The building as a whole has a modernist feel on the inside, clean uncluttered lines. There has recently been a major addition added on whose architecture is rather different – much more angular and surprising and I am getting used to that and its potential.

  5. bluebrightly says:

    That was the perfect day and time to get these photos, with the shadow interplay.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Lynn. It was a strange day. Walking across the Thames we were met by a shower of rain and a blast of cold wind. But within the hour the sun was out and the building came to life.

  6. Those are good studies in lines and light.

  7. paintball says:

    After looking into a few of the articles on your site,
    I really like your way of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark
    website list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Please check out my website as well and let me know your opinion.

  8. You have a great blog here!

Comments are closed.