Two-way Observation

If you are viewing this in the WP Reader you will see a horizontal slice through the centre of this image (thanks to the stupidity of the way images are handled in WP) and the title will make no sense at all – so ‘click’ and view the Post. Then hopefully you will see what this image is all about.

This image was taken in the towering Turbine Hall of Tate Modern. Tate Modern was originally Bankside Power Station, designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott. He also designed Battersea Power Station (famously featured on a Pink Floyd album cover) and the iconic Red Telephone Box. Tate Modern is one of the largest museums of modern and contemporary art in the world and opened in 2000.

I was in Tate Modern to see the exhibition ‘Soul of a Nation‘. A superb exhibition that shines a bright light on the vital contribution that Black artists made to a dramatic period in American art and history (post 1963).

I always spend time in the Turbine Hall. People congregate there and I ‘people watch’. On this occasion I was struck by light pouring through the high windows casting long shadows  and highlights down the walls. At one end there is a projecting box-like structure protruding into space high above the floor – an office I suspect. I’ve never before paid much attention to it before but as I wandered around I looked up and saw a figure looking out and down. And I took this image. Was I the object of his gaze? Did our eyes meet? Maybe not but the image suggests the title.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Two-way Observation

  1. oneowner says:

    It’s a great image, Andy. I can’t believe anybody at WordPress actually believes the reader is very helpful for viewing posts. The old reader was far superior. They should have at least given subscribers the option to continue with the older format.

    • LensScaper says:

      Sadly we lost he battle with WP over the reader – I have tried since that debacle to post images only in landscape format to avoid the issues associated with a portrait format image being ruined. It’s not always possible. Glad you like it, Ken.

  2. I really really like this, Andy. It would still have had special appeal without the figure, but the man standing there is a terrific bonus. Your composition seems right on.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. I’m not entirely happy with the composition as shown. I suspect that a judge would say that the bright bottom Rt corner is a distraction and that the image would be best cropped square from it’s top. I understand the merits in that, but I quite like the height that is present in the image as it stands.

  3. Sue says:

    Love the light and shadows here, Andy….and the placement of your single figure is great!

  4. paula graham says:

    A true stunner Andy , and the turbine hall, a true magnet for all.

  5. What a great study of line and shape!

  6. bluebrightly says:

    I like the image and story very much. It was one of those moments people (photographers) wait for, and there you were, at the ready! It’s inspiring to see a good show in a great space – I hope I get to the Tate one day.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Lynne. I love going back to this place – it’s always a good walk either across the Thames from St Paul’s Cathedral or along the river. If you ever get over to London definitely put it on your bucket list.

  7. I love the way you “see” Andy.

  8. A fascinating photo. I like the way the shadows created diagonals one way and the fluorescens light behind the observer the other way. This is very much a photo built on light and forms and shapes. Then the guy looking at you (maybe at least) adds a focus point and a counterpoint to all the geometry.

  9. Pingback: Turbine Hall | LensScaper

Please feel free to comment, and join the discussion.

