Cigarette Break

Lunch Hour in London is one of the best times to be walking the streets searching for images. Offices empty, cafes fill, the street population is ratcheted up by people talking on the phone, texting on the phone and catching up on Social Media. Others enjoy their first cigarette in hours. People lean against walls and sit on the kerbs in back streets.

Few are aware of their surroundings. It’s a good time of day for a little street photography.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cigarette Break

  1. Chillbrook says:

    And a great example Andy. This is an area of photography I’ve not tried. I usually work very hard not to include people in my landscapes. I always want the landscape to be the subject rather than people in it. Not that I don’t like people. I think perhaps it’d be a good exercise to give street photography a try. I like photographs that have a story to tell and that’s the essence of this kind of photography of course.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. I like my landscapes clear of clutter (people) usually too. But on the beach, shooting against the light I do like to include them, and high in the Alps I find in those circumstances people help to give a sense of scale sometimes and a focal point.

    • Sue says:

      I housed to be exactly the same, Adrian! But I now people my shots, if they are in the right place, and fit the scene….

  2. That is a great shot. I have always fancied a bit of street photography, but never had the courage to try it…maybe I’ll stick to landscapes, they are less confrontational 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks SP. I’m not a comfortable street photographer – you won’t find me approaching someone and asking permission to take an image! I’m happy just being a little surreptitious and blending in with the background if I can. This shot is perhaps one of the boldest I’ve taken, very quiet camera, she had no idea I had taken this.

  3. paula graham says:

    Yes, so true, and this such a good example of all you say. London , indeed is great as everyone is so used to cameras around, millions of tourist, all carry one.

  4. I’m not a street photographer, but I like all the lines and stuff going on around this woman. Well done 🙂

  5. Sue says:

    Nice one, Andy…. My usual trick is to lurk in a place with an interesting background and wait for people to walk into the scene!

  6. shoreacres says:

    The intensity is wonderful, and I like the human curves juxtaposed against the straight lines of the sidewalk and such.

    It does strike me that when I was working in an office environment, lunchtime and breaks were a time for gathering with others for conversation. Today? Well, curmudgeon me sees here yet another example of the ironic reality: the same technology that’s touted as a way of bringing us together also isolates in a particularly insidious way. It’s no mistake that one of the best books on the phenomenon is titled, “Alone Together.”

    “Kerb” stopped me for a minute. Now I’m all up to speed on that alternate spelling!

    • LensScaper says:

      You are right – so many people retreat into their own little worlds of ‘likes’ and ‘feeds’. I suspect this trend may possibly be a consequence of many companies in the ‘City’ banning alcohol consumption in the middle of the day – what used to be called the ‘liquid lunch’. Alcohol is a social partner – at the end of the day in the summer there are great clusters of people on the pavements outside the bars – it doesn’t happen at lunchtime. I guess a ‘Kerb’ is a ‘Curb’ state-side, just like a ‘Pavement’ is a ‘Sidewalk’. And it gets more ridiculous with cars: the engine compartment for you is under the ‘Hood’, over here it’s under the ‘Bonnet’. Confusing?

  7. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

Comments are closed.