Framed

Spotted yesterday in central London. I have a question: did this man realize exactly where he was standing when he paused to check a text or look something up on his phone?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Framed

  1. paula graham says:

    Fab, just Fab…f8 and be there!

  2. To answer your question: I don’t think so.

  3. Heide says:

    Whether the subject was aware or not, the photographer captured a brilliant frame. Well done, Andy!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Heide. It was lunchtime, and that is when so many people emerge from offices and other places of work in summer and just hang around in the streets, eating, smoking or on their phones. It’s always a good time for photography.

  4. shoreacres says:

    If he’d been holding his phone out to take a selfie, that would have been one thing. As it is, I’m voting for oblivious-to-the-world. You have quite a talent for finding these shots. I remember another one from London or Milton Keynes, where a person — a man, I think — was dressed in a way that coordinated with the background in an intriguing way.

    • LensScaper says:

      I think I know the image you are thinking of – a brown suited man (also using his phone) standing against a large brownish poster of a man. That was in London too. Lunchtime in London is a good time to be out on the streets – there are always people hanging around self-absorbed.

  5. bluebrightly says:

    No, he has no clue, but what a terrific image it made! Good thing you had your camera – was it something small?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Lynn. I have a new small toy! My aged Canon G10 died – resuscitation failed – and so I had to replace. I now have a Panasonic Lumix LX 100. Neat little camera with all the main controls laid out in a similar way to the G10. Lovely lens that starts wide (24mm equiv) and is sharp, really sharp. Complicated menu system that I am still getting used to – slowly – but for the last month I have used nothing but that. The Nikons are gathering dust. I have always used a discrete camera in London – one becomes less obvious of course. There’s another street image to come from this trip tomorrow which I think is better. It was a good day out!

      • bluebrightly says:

        Cool – I don’t know that camera but I used to have a different Panasonic Lumix, and I loved it. It does seem to take forever to learn the new menu, etc.! After a couple of years I’m still only using a small proportion of the options on mine!

        • LensScaper says:

          I read somewhere that most of us only use about 10% of the capability of software products like Excel or Word, but gather together a hundred or so people and their combined knowledge will cover well over 50% of the software’s capability. Same is true of Camera menus too I guess.

  6. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a fantastic shot this is!
    So nicely seen and captured.

Comments are closed.