Seat Vacant

Taken at Ralph Vaughan Williams’ former House – Leith Hill Place yesterday. Perhaps it hints at the parlous state of British Politics after our very recent election.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Seat Vacant

  1. phppi says:

    Lovely
    And most composition

  2. Sue says:

    Perhaps you have a point, Andy!

  3. shoreacres says:

    All it took was Vaughan Williams’s name for the opening of his “English Folk Song Suite” to begin playing in my mind. It was our opening piece when I played in the All-State Band my senior year in high school. It’s not as easy as some might think — especially for the woodwinds. Clearly, so much time in rehearsal embedded it in my mind forever..

    As for your photo, my first thought wasn’t of bleakness, or far horizons, or any of that. It was that the chair is just a little off-kilter. That made me think of Lord Buckethead, and I laughed all over again. After watching his campaign video, my first thought was, “That bloke might not be as bad as a few others who are running loose these days.”

    • LensScaper says:

      This is a very understated house, but one with beautiful views south. The presence of one lonely chair (visited by birds who left their mark) caught my eye.
      The timeline of Vaughan Williams fascinates me. Born in 1872, Rachmaninoff was born the following year. Two very different composers living parallel lives. And as for Lord B, British Politics is full of weird people who stand at elections, more often that not to poke fun at the whole political process. The Monster Raving Loony Party has been around for years!

  4. E. Brooks says:

    For this, I look beyond the chair to the horizon at far distance..perhaps a good viewpoint if considering the parlous state of both our nations politics. I like it.

  5. paula graham says:

    A photo , full of symbolism..very apt for our difficult times.

  6. Chillbrook says:

    Such an evocative image Andy made all the more so by that brooding sky. This is the English Summer! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. We are in a mess and this chair just stood there as a symbol. Nik Efex has done wonders with a dull sky. It didn’t rain actually but the dull subdued weather seemed to suit the mood of the nation – rudderless at a critical moment

      • Chillbrook says:

        The photograph certainly sets the mood brilliantly Andy. I use Nik Efex a lot to bring out the clouds in my landscapes. It’s very effective as you say.

        • LensScaper says:

          Thanks Adrian. One of those incongruous findings on a visit to an unassuming property owned by the National Trust. You never know what opportunities are around the next corner.

  7. Heide says:

    Your image reminds me very of much of Ralph Vaughan Williams’ music, Andy: melancholic, beautiful, and haunting. What a gorgeous frame you’ve captured!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Heide. Vaughan Williams’ music was playing softly in the background in the house – I had forgotten how much I loved it. Haunting is an apt word. Glad you liked the image, I just felt drawn to it.

  8. Great image Andy, somewhere I’d like to visit. I’ve been listening to the Sinfonia Antartica recently and have A Pastoral Symphony on order. One of my favourite composers.

  9. bluebrightly says:

    An evocative image Andy, but I prefer thinking of it in relation to his music, imagining him sitting there, the music beginning in his mind. I suppose it didn’t happen that way, but I’ll take it over your politics, or ours…

    • LensScaper says:

      I’m sure he must have sat on that lawn, Lynn, although not on that chair. On a clear that you can see right down to the South Coast. I’d take Music over Politics any day.

Please feel free to comment, and join the discussion.

