Stonework

On the day after a UK General Election when there has been an unexpected political upheaval, something solid and dependable merits attention.

So, I submit this stone pillar – or the detail thereof – as something that has weathered time and remains dependable. This shot was taken at Hever Castle, a place we have visited a number of times in the last year, most notably for our daughter’s wedding last July – how time flies.

I must have stood and looked at these pillars that support the roof over the outdoor area where our daughter was wed many times. But never before had I paid so much attention to them as on our most recent visit. The veining and colours in the individual stones are remarkable and I took a series of images. I now need to return again and refine the ideas that are forming in my head.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Stonework

  1. oneowner says:

    Beautiful abstraction, Andy.

  2. alan frost says:

    ‘Solid and dependable’ or did you mean ‘strong and stable’ ?! Sorry shouldn’t get political – but couldn’t resist. So much to enjoy in this abstraction.

    • LensScaper says:

      HA! Stonework that has outlasted many a government – it’s history dates back to Henry V111, although this stonework is not likely to be as old as the castle itself. Thanks Alan.

  3. Good choice. (Motivation understood, too.)

  4. paula graham says:

    Yea, I understand…and like.

  5. bluebrightly says:

    What a good idea. There seems to be political upheaval in more than one corner of the world these days! Very nice.

  6. shoreacres says:

    Do you know what kind of stone this is? I did a bit of searching to see what I could find, but the only site that showed a reference to the castle’s stonework was — this one! It is beautiful. My first thought was sandstone, because of the color, but that surely can’t be right. I’m looking forward to your future posts (in every sense of the word!)

Comments are closed.