Two plus one

Another image from our trip to West Wittering last weekend (click here for previous post). For as long as I can remember I’ve had a fascination with shooting silhouettes and the light was just right for that approach on the day we visited. This type of photography is about searching and patience, waiting for the right grouping. Sometimes one is rewarded, but there are plenty of occasions when, try as one might, things just don’t turn out quite right.

I’ve just noticed that the lady’s right sleeve ends without a visible hand! Arrgghh!

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in WaterScapes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Two plus one

  1. quiverquotes says:

    Lovely pic, nonetheless. If anything the ‘cutoff hand’ marks it as unusual, unexpected.

  2. paula graham says:

    Yea, I know that feeling too and love your shot. I think your woman’s ‘cutoff’ hand enhances the photo. Nothing is more boring than ‘perfection!’

  3. seekraz says:

    I enjoy shooting silhouettes, as well…and can imagine that the lady’s hand was tucked warmly up her sleeve…as I used to walk like that, too, in the chill of Utah, sometimes…. Nice capture, Andy.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    I think she was just wearing a jacket on the large side Andy. Like most photographers you seek perfection. sometimes it happens, most times it doesn’t. When it does, we don’t put our feet up as we’re immediately looking for the next opportunity but I don’t think this really detracts from an excellent image. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. Strange how a minor deficiency almost centre frame can go un-noticed until suddenly you spot it, and then it stands out so obviously. I think I might put it in one of the club competitions and see if a judge spots it!

      • Chillbrook says:

        That would be interesting Andy! I wonder if they would spot it.
        Did you get your Journal today? I think I might just stand for the Advisory Board or the RPS Council this year. Not sure how many nominations one needs. I’d imagine it would be frustrating, as I think going into any kind of politics would be, but it would be good to have some kind of voice within the RPS. What do you think? 🙂

  5. Dina says:

    It’s a beautiful silhouette, nevertheless Andy! 🙂

Please feel free to comment, and join the discussion.

