Replacing the windows

img_9403Almost a perfect fit. Walking down towards Tate Britain earlier this week I passed this building. Nothing very remarkable about the building – large floor to ceiling windows in a facade that was clad with wood. A little austere and subdued. it caught my eye because of the reflections of the property opposite. I slowly moved along and found a position where the windows of the facing property aligned within the window frames of the property I was viewing. And what’s more, the lighting – dull and overcast – together with the reflected pastel colours, seemed a perfect match.

On any other day, this image probably wouldn’t have worked. Just occasionally the conditions are right. Dull light can be the right type of light.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, Reflection and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Replacing the windows

  1. Keep looking at windows, Andy! This is another great one for your collections.

  2. shoreacres says:

    Some people like birds, some people like flowers. There are people who like old trucks, trees, and trails. But I don’t believe I know anyone else who’s quite as much a window aficionado as you — and this is a nice one for the collection. The crooked little reflections at the bottom made me smile.

    • LensScaper says:

      As I proclaim from time to time: I’m a butterfly photographer flitting between genres. But the concept of Documentary Pictorialism – a term I think applies to this type of image – really has great appeal.

      • shoreacres says:

        There’s another phrase I’ve never heard: documentary pictorialism. It’s interesting how each art develops its own vocabulary to help describe what’s going on within its “confines.”

  3. Dina says:

    Dull light is great. Love it and the way you handled it and how the windows are mirrored.

  4. bluebrightly says:

    We get a lot of that light here, and this is a perfect example of how good it can be – just beautiful.

Please feel free to comment, and join the discussion.

