Fence Line

_ds86554Another image from our recent visit to Cuckmere Haven. I’m not sure why this fence is planted in the water, there was no flooding apparent. The water was frozen creating an opalescent appearance to the reflections, and the light completed the scene.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in WaterScapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fence Line

  1. oneowner says:

    I do like the way the light hits the fence. Nice work!

  2. This is simple, and lovely.

  3. paula graham says:

    Beautiful both the location, the light and including the reflections of the background water’s edge also.

  4. I love the texture of the ice. Nice composition; I like the little bit of reflection of the shore at the top of the image.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. I wasn’t sure about including the opposite shore of the river. It felt a little intrusive, but then again it completed the image at the top. SO far two of you approve of the inclusion. Any one against, I wonder?

  5. shoreacres says:

    This is one of those photos that makes me happy just to look at it. In the larger version, it was fun to see the different textures in the wood, and the way the light played on each piece. The skim of ice was a lucky addition. It would have been pretty with just water, but the ice also added a little something extra.

    • LensScaper says:

      Strange how something as simple as a fence can bring a smile to one’s face. I liked it the moment I saw it. The light was just right and the ice produced a softened reflection – different from the usual. Isn’t it nice when nature delivers the goods so well?

  6. This is such a graphical image. It’s all about patterns and structure—and of course. The simplicity of the composition goes to show less is more. A great photo, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Otto. This was an image captured almost as an afterthought. Sometimes, as you will know well, it is the images that seem to take us by surprise, are the ones we value most.

Comments are closed.