Waveform

_ds86427There is something hypnotic about watching a wave approaching the shoreline knowing the inevitability that the wave will ‘break’; but that before that moment is reached it will gain a rolling crest. What intrigued me most as I watched the waves roll in alongside a small concrete jetty was the way that the surface of the sea was delineated by lines, both before and following the crest.

I could have stood there for many minutes just watching this perpetual motion, no two waves the same. Each one unpredictable, some curved, some sinuous. The break point variable.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in WaterScapes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Waveform

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Wonderful, simple image, Andy. Adrian

  2. Dina says:

    This is hypnotizing, Andy! 🙂 A great and powerful photo.

  3. oneowner says:

    You could easily have filled your memory card with good images without moving. And each would be a winner.

  4. Jane Lurie says:

    Love this shot- great eye for detail, Andy. Very strong composition.

  5. paula graham says:

    That is a stunning wave…a true beauty.

  6. Chillbrook says:

    I can just spend hours watching the waves Andy and have done many times. This really is a lovely photograph!

  7. shoreacres says:

    I’ve spent a lot of time wave-watching, but this is a new perspective for me. It’s quite wonderful: sinuous and intricate on the one hand, yet utterly simple on the other. Well done!

    • LensScaper says:

      Interesting to read that comment, Linda. These were waves of low magnitude and that may have something to do with what I observed. Only time will tell, because I will be back to that location again.

  8. shoreacres says:

    Do you close your comments after a time? I tried to leave this link about spider silk on your “Gossamer Threads” entry, but there wasn’t a place to do so. Anyway, I thought you’d be interested. I left the link to your entry on the biologist’s site, so if you’ve closed comments, you might want to open them for that piece, in case someone has a question or comment.

  9. hmunro says:

    What I love about your image — apart from the wonderful composition — is that one can sense both the stillness of the moment, and the tension that is building underneath that wave, propelling it forward. Stunning work, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      I know exactly what you mean, Heather – and thank you for your comment. Watching those waves rolling in was a very calming experience and yet underneath that calm was the unpredictable tension of when will the wave break.

  10. You really captured a smooth and elegant wave in this photos. And I agree with you there is something quite hypnotic about water breaking onto a shoreline.

  11. Yamini says:

    No doubt its a great click but what made this post a true winner is your understanding of it and the way you have put it into words!

Comments are closed.