Green Fields

_ds86075This is the last of a series of images from Devil’s Dyke on the South Downs. Having captured a panorama looking towards the West along the downs, my eyes swung round to the North.

The sun was low in the sky and light from it delineated the folds in the landscape beautifully. Green fields already sown, and a crop well established, filled the view and reminded me immediately of a similar swathe of green fields that I had captured back in Northamptonshire about two years previously – click here to view that post.

Finding the best viewpoint was not easy. Someone observing me (thankfully no-one, because I was way off the path down the hill some way to get this shot), would have spotted an individual manically running hither and thither as if pursued by a swarm of wasps, left and right, up and down, and pausing occasionally. I didn’t want to lose the light and time was short. I shot about twenty images and so far this is the one that is the most satisfying.

Those with sharp eyes will spot an intrusion just right of centre – the tip of an electricity pylon. By running down hill towards the eventual image, I reduced the pylon’s visibility, and if I continue to like this shot then I will clone it out. What lifts this image above others is the inclusion of a small copse of trees on the right – it adds something to the composition – a point for the eye to rest on as it moves through the picture.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Green Fields

  1. Sue says:

    That copse makes the image, Andy….and I was wondering if it should be placed even closer to the right

  2. oneowner says:

    I like the way the different color shapes blend so well together. Well done.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. It was the inter-weaving of the folds in the landscape, the colours and the shapes – so many possibilities. I will return to this place again, I am sure.

  3. hmunro says:

    I agree with you about the trees, Andy — they add a nice bit of punctuation to your lovely image. Another great shot!

    • LensScaper says:

      Punctuation is a good word, Heather – I often call that sort of a feature a ‘Full Stop’ or ‘Period’ for those in the USA. Features like that help stop the viewer’s idea drifting out of the image.

  4. paula graham says:

    Love the shot how you presented it, there are dozens of different angles one could use but this is how you did it and this is how it is RIGHT. Careful to keep photography fresh and from the heart and not by the book..like camera clubs do.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Paula. Always difficult when faced with a multitude of permutations do work out which one works best. Maybe it is this one. And as for Camera Clubs – and especially Judges – it’s good to present an image that breaks the rules and see what the judge makes of it.

  5. shoreacres says:

    The texture of the green field is wonderful. It looks like velour — and very pricey velour, at that.

    • LensScaper says:

      The texture looks almost too good to be true – possibly a touch over sharpened. Greens I find are often difficult to get right, colour-wise, and when they fill the screen almost completely at capture then the camera throws a bit of a ‘wobble’ in getting the white balance right.

  6. The low sun makes this landscape stand out. And like Linda says above it makes the texture of the field look good. I like the rolling shapes of the fields, enhanced by the use of a longer lens.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Otto. The lens may not be as long as you would have thought – only 78mm (35mm Equiv). It was a day that will live long in my memory and somewhere I will return to next year.

  7. Love the layers of landscape in this, the composition looks great to me. I’ve been putting off joining a camera club for years but it would be interesting to experience the judging process. Probably a little too formal for me – as you say Andy, it’s often good to break the rules when making photos.

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Simon – thanks for your comment. Camera Clubs vary greatly as do their programmes – some feature a regular crop of external speakers, and some are perhaps a little over-focused on competitions. Judges get a bad name but they have a difficult task: judging and commenting on images that (usually) they have not seen before they arrive at the club as the judge. All things considered, I believe membership of a club is useful – you get to see a variety of other people’s work, you meet like-minded people, and you will also get the chance to see the work of visiting speakers – often of ARPS or FRPS level.

  8. Chillbrook says:

    Beautiful image Andy!

Comments are closed.