At the Apple Store

img_9296I was in London briefly a couple of weeks ago and walked past the Apple Store near Oxford Circus. The store has a mezzanine level towards the rear of the store and I was intrigued by the clientele at the front of that stage.

The three gentlemen to the right of the frame stood there, seemingly lost in their own little worlds. One read, another was using an iPad which he then packed away, the third just fidgeted. They didn’t relate to each other, nor did they appear to be relating to the store itself. Human behaviour is always worth observing.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to At the Apple Store

  1. oneowner says:

    This is an extremely interesting shot, Andy. The black and red clothing theme pulls everyone together even though they seem disinterested in their own surroundings.

  2. Andy, you are so good at finding great arrangements of people. This is not the first time, nor will it, I’m sure, be the last.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Linda. That’s kind of you. I could see this building some way off as I walked towards it, not initially realizing what it was but seeing that mezzanine level and people standing there. The scene intrigued me.

  3. A day in our modern world!

  4. shoreacres says:

    This could be an amusing commentary on my first and only trip to an Apple store: customers in black over “here,” staff in red over “there.” I have great sympathy for the fidgeter, believe me. But what really caught me was the red and black. My high school’s colors were red and black, and since those years, I’ve never seen red and black without taking a short mental trip back to that era.

    • LensScaper says:

      De-saturating all colours other than black separated the Sheep from the Goats. Red is such a stand-out colour, and I’ve used the same de-saturation technique before. Many thanks as always, Linda.

  5. paula graham says:

    The apple stores are just amazing…how beautifully we get manipulated in thinking this or that is a ‘must have’!!

  6. Chillbrook says:

    It is indeed Andy! An interesting image, this is the world in which we now live! 🙂

Comments are closed.