Splattered

_ds85960_sqAnd now for something completely different. My car got splattered with pale mud on an outing – cue picture. The mud wasn’t quite as white as it looks now, but processing made it chalk-white. And, nothing reflects the world around you quite as well as a black car does.

The downside, of course, is that a black car also looks dirty very quickly.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Splattered

  1. Not only do I enjoy this image, Andy, but I also enjoy the fact that you saw a photograph here.

  2. oneowner says:

    A positive side of having a black car is that I think they tend to be more photogenic. This is proof of my theory.

  3. paula graham says:

    Indeed, so true…shiny black cars are a delight in summer only!!

  4. Chillbrook says:

    You find images where others just wouldn’t think to look Andy. Superb!

  5. Nothing is as bad as it cannot be good for something. A really like this photo, the abstract appearance and the simple composition of structures and patterns. But, yes, unfortunately it probably doesn’t make the car look good. 🙂

  6. shoreacres says:

    The background looks like a Google Earth image of a canal cutting through fields. Beyond that, it’s interesting to contemplate the differences in splatter pattern that surely must arise, given differences in cars, tires, mud consistency, and so on. What a gallery that would be! You’d have to be careful, taking photos of other people’s cars, though.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. I’ve had some strange looks viewing my own car, so I don’t think I will be taking pictures of other ones! This is my first splatter image. The car will now have to be cleaned, not something I am looking forward to as the mornings are very icy at the moment over here.

  7. Poppy says:

    Glad you gave us the tyre edge clue Andy! Always interesting the effects of pushing the processing techniques. Maybe your black car is putting on the glitz this morning 🙂 our car is decidedly frost sparkly in the light after the overnight temperature plummet. -5 a liitle while ago .

  8. Meanderer says:

    Very nice abstract, Andy. I agree with you about dark cars giving lots of photographic possibilities. I remember photographing lots of frost patterns and moss on an old dark-coloured car from a few years back.

Comments are closed.