About Turn

_ds85913This is my fourth and last post about Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters. Click here to read the first post in this series.

Having taken the classic view, stared at the sand under my feet, and raised my eyes slightly toward the sun out beyond the sea, I finally turned to look back up the beach behind me.

The sand was wet and where the water had pooled there were reflections. In the first image, a sufficiently large pool of water produced an attractive reflection of the Seven Sisters themselves.

But as I moved around, and found the places where sand and water were interwoven, the reflections became abstract and beautifully layered.

_ds85895And there were places where the effect was like liquid gold coursing across the sand.

_ds85906I don’t think I have ever seen scenes quite like this before.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, WaterScapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to About Turn

  1. These are all really nice, Andy. Love the sight lines in the first one and the colors and abstractions in the second and third ones.

  2. paula graham says:

    stunning shots and an interesting series.

  3. spudbudette says:

    Beautiful.

  4. Poppy says:

    A pool of gold and a pot of gold of images too Andy . Sands gently layered with gold leaf .. and the lower tide couldn’t have been more helpful 🙂 Absolutely love these . *Sigh .. the coastline is so inspirational … looking forward to a couple of visits myself again soon …

    • LensScaper says:

      You’re right, Poppy. The coastline is inspirational and having lived so far inland for so many years I am really enjoying the potential of a new horizon. Thanks very much for your comments.

  5. shoreacres says:

    Taken as a whole, this series is proof positive of something you’ve mentioned from time to time: every place in the world presents itself in a multitude of ways. Sometimes, it does so simultaneously. The trick is being aware enough, as you were, to look up, out, down, and behind. We just never know.

    These are beautiful. I was amused to realize that if the photos had been presented without any commentary, and without any knowledge about when or where they were taken, I would have assumed they were taken at different places, or at least on different days. That’s more evidence that really looking is so important.

    • LensScaper says:

      This was a very memorable day out and one I will look back for a long time as a source of so many images. The Art of Seeing, or whatever we choose to call it, always requires us to be in a receptive frame of mind – free of pressure, with no competing demands, anxiety-free. This was one of those days – and the weather couldn’t be faulted.

  6. The golden reflections are just beautiful!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you very much. This was one of those days where I wanted to ‘bottle’ what I saw and preserve it. It’s at times like this that you realize that the camera can be a poor substitute for being there, but it was fun doing my best.

  7. Chillbrook says:

    Beautiful. Those gold colours are quite something Andy!

  8. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful. Those blues and golds are wonderful.

  9. Excellent abstractions. I hope I get to play in this playground someday.

Comments are closed.