Looking down

_ds85886Continuing the theme of ‘Under Foot‘, today I’m posting another pair of images from Birling Gap. The Sun shone brilliantly that day, and where there is the combination of sun, sea, sand and low tide there is one view that must not be forgotten – look towards the sun. And if you are fortunate, and a light breeze has wrinkled the sand, it’s very likely that you will find images like these. In fact you may well be spoilt for choice, as I was.

_ds85889I spent quite a few minutes, strolling slowly, capturing the glistening wet sand and shallow puddles of salt water.

I came across a quote by Yann Arthus-Bertrand – a French Photographer and Environmentalist – last week, which I feel is so apt in situations like this, when we are blessed with such delights. He said: “The Earth is Art. The photographer is only a witness”. Ten words that say so much about our relationship with our planet.

Did you see the face in the second image?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in WaterScapes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Looking down

  1. Sue says:

    Didn’t see the face, I dare say I’m wired up differently!

  2. shoreacres says:

    I didn’t see the face, either. I was so taken with the color, and the play of light on the sand, I couldn’t see anything else. It looks as though someone has covered the beach with gold leaf. It’s really an amazing pair of photos.

    • shoreacres says:

      I was so taken with the photos, I missed the quotation, too. It’s a good one, and so true.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your two comments, Linda. I love that quote – it rings so true to me. There were plenty of images like the two posted, the combination of circumstances were just right. We all see different things in images but I see a face: one eye open, one eye shut tilted diagonally in the second image, and a rather crumpled nose and not much of a mouth,

  3. Great images Andy. The second image looks like an alien 🙂

  4. Chillbrook says:

    These are wonderful Andy. I took a few like this recently myself. Quite unusual for me to be looking down but on the beach, it can reap real dividends!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. I think it is when we have the time to ‘take our time’ without and external pressures, that our Eye is most active. It’s what Otto refers to as being ‘In Flow’ and that is such an apt way of putting it.

  5. Meanderer says:

    What interesting textures and patterns. The second image reminds me of crumpled gold paper!

  6. Yes, got the face. I enjoy looking at abstracts like this and searching for the image or forms within the image. Like looking for shapes in clouds as a child.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for your comment, Craig, and I enjoyed taking a look at your website. Seeing faces and shapes in nature is not give to us all. But it’s fun, and as you imply it’s very similar to cloud watching – there is even a book of strange animals and objects seen floating in the sky.

Comments are closed.