Under Foot

_ds85878Too often when we walk about with a camera, we look around us but ignore what is right under our feet. It’s all to easy to forget that the world exists in 360 degrees in three dimensions.

We were at Birling Gap last week, on the South Coast viewing The Seven Sisters (click the link to see the cliffs). We were blessed with beautiful weather and having got the classic shot I started to look around me on the beach.

Little rivulets of water were trickling down the beach and leaving behind intricately feathered patterns that were exquisite examples of natural creation.

_ds85881

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in WaterScapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Under Foot

  1. It’s amazing what we can see if we just look around. I’ve noticed I look up a lot more often than I used to when I walk now while i photograph things and I see a lot more interesting things!

  2. I love these, Andy, especially the first one. You found some really great examples of these patterns—and without footprints to distract.

  3. oneowner says:

    These are some of the patterns all around us waiting to be photographed. Well done, Andy.

  4. shoreacres says:

    I especially like the first, but both are lovely. The quality of your sand is so different from ours, and so good. We’d never see something like this here, although now that I say that, I realize I really ought to take another look before making such a blanket statement. And of course, our coarser sand may offer its own delights.

    • LensScaper says:

      The sun is low in the sky at this time of year and that does make a lot of difference to how shadows are cast. But I think we were very fortunate with the conditions too.

  5. Lignum Draco says:

    I think the act of carrying a camera makes us more aware of our surroundings. But it is timely to remember to think in 3D.

    • LensScaper says:

      Absolutely right, and thank you for commenting – I find that the mere act of carrying a camera ‘in-hand’ results in a heightened awareness of my surroundings. It does indeed exist in 3D, and never forget that includes what is behind us. Enjoy your break LD.

  6. These are great Andy. Nature is remarkable, constantly changing and producing patterns like this.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Simon. Yes, on another day these might have been missing altogether, but there might equally have been something different to observe. Bizarrely only a few minutes ago I was looking through some quotes and came across this one: ‘the Earth is Art. The photographer is only a witness’. That sums it up very well. It’s a quote from Yann Arthus-Bertrand, a French Photographer and Environmentalist.

      • A wonderful quote from Yann Arthus-Bertrand. As photographers we are very fortunate to witness the art in nature – when a great photo is created from this I believe it provides a real insight into our world.

        • LensScaper says:

          And what better insights do we have than Planet Earth II on BBC TV – last weekend’s episode specifically about the Mountain environment was some of the best nature photography I have ever seen.

          • I watched that too Andy. Yes, magnificent photography – I admire the skill, dedication and perseverance required to achieve photography of that standard. Will definately buy a copy of the dvd.

  7. Chillbrook says:

    This is one of the great things about being on the beach. You were talking about microscapes the other day Andy and there are so many to be found on any beach anywhere. It was a pleasure in Fuerteventura recently, not to be distracted by the big picture but to just walk along the surf line with my camera, looking to my feet rather than looking up. Smashing photographs! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for that, Adrian. Yes, these are Microscapes although in my thinking I have tended to reserve the term for landscapes, but yes, these are certainly Microscapes. I think one of the joys of having time, without pressure, is to just follow one’s nose along a stretch of sea shore and you will be rewarded with images. This is a new concept for me having lived for so long in the dead centre of England.

  8. sixpixx says:

    Great observations, Andy. It really makes us think about the ever changing environment of the coast and what we can see at different times of the day and year.

  9. Pingback: Looking down | LensScaper

Comments are closed.