Woodland

_ds85978Today’s headline image is unusual for me as it takes in a broad sweep of woodland – not my normal approach to this environment. This image was taken yesterday on a visit to our local Nature Reserve – a five-minute drive from home. It includes a sizeable lake and therefore is home to a wide variety of water birds. Most photographers I see there are carrying expensive 400mm lenses. I was simply using a 16:85mm DX lens. The stream that I have mentioned, and shown images from previously, drains into this Nature Reserve.

I enjoyed the opportunity to view woodland through a different pair of eyes. It is a challenge to take an alternative view, and we all benefit from what we learn through that experience. My modus operandi in woodland has been usually to focus in on small details. Often in Spring and Autumn that focus is on a few backlit leaves. I call those images ‘Microscapes’ simply because they put a small portion of the landscape under the microscope, usually employing a long lens to create compression and a narrow depth of field.

And of course there were moments yesterday when I reverted back to my customary approach and found that little detail that was just a Microscape within the broader ‘scape.

_ds85987

Remember to click on an image to see a higher quality enlargement.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Microscapes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Woodland

  1. Chillbrook says:

    What a great term Andy, Microscapes. I like that very much. Not a view I usually take at all as you know and one I really should experiment with. I love your microscape but I also like the first image very much. The dense foliage in the foreground with the very straight trunks of the young trees makes for a compelling image! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Adrian. Carrying a camera is always an enriching experience – we see more and in a deeper way. I was actively looking for the broad shot, seeking out an array of straight-trunked trees. And there are always Microscapes – the word came to me a few years ago and has stuck. It’s hard to believe that we have been here for very nearly a year, but it was a great choice of place – there are places nearby that will always be worth visiting to watch the seasons go by.

    • Sue says:

      I agree, Adrian!

  2. Dina says:

    I agree with Adrian on the term of “Microscapes”, Andy. And the results! 🙂
    I somehow tend to feel a bit intimidated be all the photographers with 400mm and 600mm and even more here in the Cley Marshes … 😉
    Hope you had a great start to the new week!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Dina. I don’t think I could justify buying one of those huge and very expensive lenses. My would have something to say about it! However I do have a 500mm Mirror lens that cost less than £500, is lightweight, and can take some very good images although the manual focussing is a bit tricky. I think I might take that along to the Nature Reserve and raise a few eyebrows!

  3. paula graham says:

    Great new work and lovely shots.

  4. shoreacres says:

    I love that first image. I can imagine Henri Rousseau coming across a painting of those straight, tall trees and saying, “Hmmm… I could improve that. Let’s add some ferns and some verdant undergrowth.” If he’d had a little more time, you might have seen a tiger peeking out at you from the trees!

  5. I enjoy the play between the horizontal bands and vertical stripes in your first photograph, Andy. And your second photo gives me the treat of back-lit leaves, something I’m always a sucker for. Some time ago I took a photography course from a woman who had us students choose a well-known photographer to study and then emulate. After I shot something the way I thought Joel Meyerowitz might have, I just had to shoot it again my own way. The assignment was a great exercise in realizing my own photographic proclivities, as well as Joel Meyerowitz’s.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Linda. I’ve loved shooting into the light for over forty years, it just gives me a buzz every time. And Spring and Autumn are the best times of year to try that technique out on the leaves that have that lovely translucent quality about them. I googled Joel and found a great article about him that I will sit down and read later.

  6. Poppy says:

    You’re right Andy that challenge to come up with a different view is exactly that , woodlands present so many opportunities it can be a hard choice ! I like the sense of stillness in your first photo and imagining some bird calls high up there out of sight …
    I too love backlit leaves .

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Poppy. The strange thing was that the wood was deathly quiet – no birdsong at all. Rather eerie actually. Glad to hear you are another lover of backlit leaves.

  7. ramayana830 says:

    its a very good to live in the forest because it forgets all our worldly things

Comments are closed.