Walking the Watercourse

_ds85812Water levels in our local stream, along which I walk on a daily basis, have been low for several weeks after a prolonged spell of dry weather.

Yesterday I put on knee-length Wellington boots and waded into the stream, camera in hand in search of images.

_ds85796There’s a long straight stretch with a very gentle series of step-downs (rapids would be a misnomer), and this was a delight to walk. Images were not difficult to find.

Back home in front of the computer, I found that inverting some of the images led to an impressionistic result which I rather liked.

The gallery below features five frames, one frame (the last two images in the gallery) is shown twice – firstly as taken, and then inverted. It would be interesting to know which you prefer.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, WaterScapes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Walking the Watercourse

  1. What a beautiful walk, so pretty 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Norma. it was quite special to be able walk up and down the centre of the stream, with the water so quiet and still (after it had quietened down following my movement).

  2. shoreacres says:

    What lovely images. My favorite of the entire group is the first image, top left, of the six. I’m not so fond of the inverted image. If I hadn’t seen it next to the original, I might have felt differently, but I think the original view is more inviting. The two that are primarily a combination of leaves and reflected light are lovely, though. All of them together are proof that autumn photos don’t require great swaths of red, yellow, and orange to appeal.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment, Linda. Good choice – that is the classic view upstream. Having walked beside it so often, it was an entirely different viewpoint to stand in the centre of the stream and look upstream past the little step downs. I think there are many faces of Autumn and those that have the brightest colours aren’t necessarily the best.

  3. A man after my own inclinations! Isn’t walking in the water a wonderful experience? I’m seeing some similarity between your opening photograph and the photos of the hollow way. Nice work, Andy!

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes there is some similarity, Linda, although to be honest it hadn’t really occurred to me until now. This stream flow through a heavily wooded area just on the northern edge of the town where I now live. The gradient is very gradual and the stream has cut a very sinuous path, deeply cut in places actually. The section closest to me is broader and a little more open and, although I may be biased, the prettiest. I don’t think I will be walking this again this autumn, we had heavy rainfall overnight and the water levels are now raised and I suspect they will now stay that way through winter.

  4. paula graham says:

    Well , all this effort has certainly resulted in some striking shots. Very beautiful.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Paula. The experience will be repeated – you get a completely different perception of the stream when you actually stand in it. A fee walkers thought I was mad, but that’s par for the course as a photographer. We frequently raise eyebrows and get strange looks.

  5. There are some lovely abstract shots here. I like the colours and that the images make you look and think.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment, Robin. Wellington boots come in useful occasionally. I was hoping to have another wade later this week, but the weather has changed, a downpour has raised the water levels, and I think I will need to wait until Spring before repeating the experience. The water was so still – it will take a while before that state re-occurs.

  6. Beautiful photographs. More like paintings actually. Delightful! I love wading through rivers.

    Peta

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much for your comment, Peta. Often reflections are a little imprecise and, in consequence, do have a painterly quality to them. Glad you enjoyed them

  7. seekraz says:

    Great images, Andy…looks like a wonderful place for a walk.

  8. Chillbrook says:

    Beautiful pictures Andy!

  9. Louise says:

    Hurrah for wellingtons Andy ! A lovely gallery , and a place you’ll revisit time and time again I’m sure with it being so close by . Potential for a few nice misty shots I guess if the conditions are right 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Poppy. Yes, mist would I am sure make for something different. There have been a couple of mornings when the light was filtering through trees with the remnants of mist and there were some soft misty rays – but I only had an iPhone with me.

  10. Meanderer says:

    Another beautiful place so close to your home, and how wonderful that you were able to walk in the water to get the perspective of being right in the middle of it! Beautiful images.

    • LensScaper says:

      I must walk in the river again, but I suspect not until next Spring. The water levels have risen since my ‘wade’ and I doubt they will settle this winter. Many thanks for your comment.

Comments are closed.