Silver Birches

img_8389_5A trip to Tate Modern yesterday to see the superb exhibition of Georgia O’Keeffe (shortly to end) was a reminder of images I took earlier this year of Silver Birches outside the Tate.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Silver Birches

  1. Sue says:

    Have to say, I’ve never noticed Silver Birches outside the Tate! Great image

  2. Great shot. The trees have become almost luminescent!

  3. oneowner says:

    I can see the influence those modern paintings have had on your photography. Very nice shot, Andy.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Ken. This was processed before I saw Georgia O’Keeffe’s exhibition but I was very impressed with some of her later work, particularly with Cottonwood Trees. There were also a few photos by Ansel Adams who knew Georgia and her husband Alfred Stieglitz well. In particular a print of his magnificent ‘Moonrise, Hernandez, New Mexico’.

  4. hmunro says:

    What a beautiful, mysterious, beguiling image! Nicely done, Andy.

  5. Lisa Gordon says:

    This is such a beautiful photograph.

  6. “Oh!” I said to myself as soon as I saw this photograph. It’s just stunning, Andy. The high contrast, the intentional camera movement, the composition, and the color add up to something superb.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much Linda. I must come clean (as I have in other comments) – the blur was added in processing and not in-camera. But quite a bit of work was needed to get the final result.

  7. paula graham says:

    Yea, I know those silver birches…you have done them proud. Great stuff.

  8. shoreacres says:

    Georgia O’Keeffe would love your photo. No question.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. I was rather disappointed by a collection of photos by Georgia’s husband, Alfred Stieglitz. But a real bonus were a few of Ansel Adams’s images including his famous ‘Moonrise, Hernandez, New Mexico’. It was wonderful to see that up close.

  9. Meanderer says:

    Beautiful. Love this!

  10. One word will suffice, Andy: YOWZA. 🙂

  11. Louise says:

    How creative Andy ! Lovely effect . Birch trees really do tug at the inner artist 🙂

  12. Dina says:

    I really like the outcome of this postprocessing, this is fine art indeed, Andy. Silver birches are great for photography. Have you ever been to Anglesey Abbey in Cambridgeshire? They have an impressive forest of carefully planned silver birches, almost the main attraction in the vast garden. The birches are steamcleaned twice a year to get this bright shiny whiteness rather than the greyish colour of the birches you see here in Norway.

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Dina. When we lived in Northamptonshire we went to Anglesey Abbey once in early Spring to see the Snowdrops. I don’t have a clear memory for the Birches – I should have paid closer attention by the sounds of it

  13. Lignum Draco says:

    Very painterly/creative. The light is quite beautiful.

  14. Beautiful photo. The technique really bring out the beauty of the forms of the birches, and makes them stand out against the background. Did you do the special appearance in-camera or in post-production?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Otto. The motion blur was created in post-production. In-camera is a lot more hit and miss, and in truth I hadn’t really thought of blur when I shot the image – I was attracted by the splay of the trunks. Back home one or two branches were ‘pruned’ out to allow the main frame of the trees to stand out.

Comments are closed.