Clean Abstract

img_8807A reflection in a building near Victoria station shot a few months ago. The reflections were dramatic and I decided to maximise their impact by using Topaz Clean to ‘clean’ and simplify the reflections. Then I straightened the image, in the process distorting the perspective to create an image that becomes more an abstract than architectural.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Clean Abstract

  1. Sue says:

    Love it! Well spotted, and great processing, Andy!

  2. alan frost says:

    I very much enjoy your ‘reflections’ and this one is high on my list of favourites. An excellent abstract with just enough information for the viewer to recognise the scene.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for those kind words, Alan. I don’t often distort perspective in the way that I have done here, but it seemed to work and added a little extra geometry to the final image

  3. shoreacres says:

    This really is beautiful. I think it’s the combination of colors that draws me in, as much as the structure, but the entry point hardly matters. It certainly does reward close inspection.

    One of the huge problems I’ve had this trip is the absence of a “clean” sky in Kansas. Between prescribed burns on the prairie, ubiquitous gravel roads, and the on-going soybean harvest with the immense clouds of dust that raises, there’s a pall over the land that leads to washed out skies. Any chance that Topaz would help with that, or one of the other filters available with PS or Lightroom? I won’t be able to mess around until I get home, but it does occur to me that some of the photos I’m disappointed in might be somewhat salvageable.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda – the colours were certainly the main attraction when I first saw this building and (of course) the character of the reflections.
      In answer to your query – the answer that springs to mind while you are still on your trip would be to consider using (or buying) a Neutral Density Graduated Filter which is commonly used to darken the sky. That might be of some assistance.
      When you are back if you would like to send me a JPG of one of the images (I expect you still have my email address), I would be happy to take a look and see what can be done to improve the sky in processing.

  4. Love the result. Now there’s one Topaz plug in I haven’t tried yet.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Edith. Like all Topaz plugins there is a place for it – it smooths out and removes fine detail so that images become ‘cleaner’. Works well with some images but tends to create a lot of artefacts in busy backgrounds.

  5. Sallyann says:

    Really nice. Love the lines on this one. 😊

  6. Meanderer says:

    Very nice, Andy. The windows are almost jumping out of the screen!

  7. Dina says:

    Very well done! 🙂 Artisticly inspiring work, Andy.

Comments are closed.