Water Sky

_ds85535The world would be a very boring place if it was devoid of reflections. In urban environments the use of flat glass as an outer skin for many buildings has revolutionised the way the built elements of a neighbourhood inter-relate in a vibrant and constantly changing way.

In the natural world we have to rely on water for reflection and, to my eye, there is something special about the way that water reflects the sky depending on how still or ruffled the surface is.

This image was taken last weekend on a visit to Chartwell – there was a subtle movement to the water that created an impressionistic sky, which I inverted during processing.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Water Sky

  1. oneowner says:

    You win! This is the best photo on the web today!

  2. Sallyann says:

    Beautiful. 😊 two of my favourites combined… Sky and reflection.

  3. alan frost says:

    Excellent reflection of the sky Andy.

  4. A watercolor painted by nature. Great shot!

  5. I agree about water reflections versus window reflections, for example. And this one is a beauty, Andy. (Not that either one of us will start turning up our noses at any other kind of reflection. They’re all just way too much fun.)

  6. shoreacres says:

    Of course, the quality of the water makes a difference, just as the quality of glass affects the reflection. I was at a pond recently where the muddy, brown water was reflective, too, but even though the pond surface was perfectly still, the reflection was quite different.

    This is gorgeous. I wish I’d had you at my elbow yesterday to tell me how to capture a wood-and-glass chapel out in the woods. My morning photos were so bad, I deleted every one. Then, I studied up a bit, and went back in the afternoon. I think those photos are better. One problem was that I wasn’t paying any attention to the metering mode. (I know, I know.) But something else I discovered was a discrepancy between what I see in-camera, and what appears on this laptop. I suddenly realized that the resolution of my laptop is terrible. By moving the screen, I can make any photo — even yours here — either so dark as to nearly disappear, or completely wash it out. I’m glad I discovered that, because now I know I dare not judge any photo to be trash and discard it until I get home, and can see things on a proper screen!

    • LensScaper says:

      We all have days when the results disappoint – I know I do. I have a smallish Mac laptop and although the screen image is actually very good I find it really difficult to evaluate images on it. I am told, and have read, that we should regularly re-ccalibrate our screens as the colours deteriorate over time. I did that once with an older laptop. At home I have a sizeable iMac and the colour on that is as true and strong as it was when it was new out of the box over three years ago.

Comments are closed.