Leith Hill re-visited

_ds85455A third visit to Leith Hill on another fine day and as ever my eye was drawn to the coniferous trees that populate the flattish summit of the hill like sentinels.

Regular readers may remember the two previous visits at the start of the year, one in hill fog and the other on a beautifully crisp January day. New readers: type Leith Hill into the search box in the Rt sidebar and you will find those posts.

I suspect that every time I re-visit this hill, I will re-photograph some of these trees, and each time come away with a slightly different result.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Leith Hill re-visited

  1. Chillbrook says:

    It’s great to have a favourite location that you can visit and revisit. As you say Andy, you always come away with something different. This is a wonderful images. The sun through the tree just perfect!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much, Adrian. It’s strange how places can feel so different when the climatic conditions would appear (superficially at least) to be the same. I’m sure there are a variety of factors at work, including our own state of mind. That’s not meant to imply that I am bi-polar or suffer from any other disorder. I consulted my doctor and he says I am fine (that’s my opinion of course!), but I think when one is relaxed and without pressure time-wise, then the eye has time to dwell on things a little longer and the images just come to you. And I have for more than forty years looked into the sun (and the eyes are still OK).

  2. Stunning image, especially, I’d wager, rendered in black and white.

    • LensScaper says:

      It looked good in colour, but I knew I could ‘up’ the drama with a little help from Nik’s Silver Efex. There’s always one preset that hits the sweet spot. Thanks Linda

  3. Very striking image Andy, showing the power of monochrome.

  4. Louise says:

    A lovely sunburst through the tree branches Andy .. and a very graceful composition made for re interpretation again and again . Yes 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you, Poppy. Not always predictable how the sun will turn out when you shoot directly towards it. Sometimes it is just a burnt out blob but on this occasion it turned out nicely.

  5. paula graham says:

    the conversion into B&W is done so well. Striking shot of a beautiful spot.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Pauls. Thanks in the main are due to SIlved Efex, software that really does produce a starting point in B&W than can then be tweaked a little further. It is a beautiful spot with vast panoramic views.

  6. shoreacres says:

    I’m not always fond of starburst suns. They can seem just a little too dramatic. But as part of this black and white photo, it seems more a part of the whole, and not quite so overwhelming. I like this, very much.

    • LensScaper says:

      Starburst suns can be a clichĂ©, you are right. Controlling them – taming them – is not always easy. Actually what I dislike the most are those coloured light trails that sometimes spread across an image and are very difficult to remove.

Comments are closed.