Wool

_ds85233High above Zermatt you may come across small herds of goats or sheep. The goats vary in type, the sheep are always Valais Blacknose or Blackface sheep. They look very cute in the photographs on the web, where they are displayed at their pristine best – prepped for ‘showing’ I expect. Out in the wilds they are scruffy, and dirty.

In the heat of the day they tend to cluster in the shade, crowded together in an attempt to stay cool.

_ds85333I have not so far managed to capture an image worth showing of a whole sheep, but their wool, albeit in need of a wash, is quite a sight. Any girl would be proud of curls like that.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wool

  1. shoreacres says:

    Both photos are delightful. I like the abstract patterns of the first, and laughed at the second. The sheep look rather like Texas cattle huddled under a single oak tree in the middle of a pasture. Of course, even fish will seek the shade of a dock on our hot afternoons — just as varnishers celebrate having work to do in a shed!

    Let me tell you: even older girls would be proud of curls like that. Just the other day, I was pondering why our family’s characteristic thinning hair had come to me. Then, I started counting the decades, and decided I might have found the reason.

    • LensScaper says:

      Sheep are not as stupid as we sometimes think they are. The bright ones get in the shade first! Thinning hair…dangerous topic. I am developing a bald patch such that from behind I look like a monk. I have taken to wearing a hat – except I haven’t found one yet that is sartorially acceptable to my wife!

  2. on13blog says:

    Love ❤️ the first pic too . I always wanted a farm my whole life . I love the pictures so amazing.

  3. hmunro says:

    Those long ringlets in the first photo look like a weaver’s dream. But that second image? That one literally made me laugh out loud. If those sheep have any more offspring, they’re going to need a bigger rock! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your lovely images.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    Your first picture of the wool Andy is superb. I sympathise with the issue of trying to capture a decent picture of a whole sheep. They’re skittish and clearly not of a mind to be photographed if at all they can help it. I know I’ve tried on the common land around Malvern where they roam freely, often causing problems for drivers when they, as in your second photo, seek out the shade of a tree and all end up lying across the road.

    • LensScaper says:

      These were actually quite docile sheep, but they were hairy wrecks and their faces were so black that actually getting a usable image with eyes visible was the primary difficulty.

  5. Dina says:

    Love the attractive blonde curls of the sheep. 🙂

  6. Louise says:

    I find they’re always ‘working’ their jaws Andy , and I’ve not managed a whole sheep yet either 🙂 Curls to be proud of indeed !

Comments are closed.