A Different Pair

_ds84733Readers of this blog will know that I am what is sometimes called a Butterfly Photographer (and I don’t mean an interest in Lepidoptera). As I walk about, camera in hand, my mantra is: ‘Where’s the Picture?’ I never know what I will see next – my eye is constantly seeking out the next image, flitting from one genre to another. It makes for an interesting life, and in consequence I believe I have a far greater awareness of my immediate environment. And that awareness persists whether or not I have a camera with me.

Two images today. With similarities and differences. They were photographed just over a minute and a half apart and were almost within sight of each other.

_ds84736

I was aware of the discarded  pair of windows or doors and it was on my list of objects to be photographed. Moving on from there my eye alighted on the second image. Perhaps the geometric lines and tonal balance and colour of the first image were still being assimilated by my brain, and I saw a distant connection in the second. Both are about glass and framing. One is old, the other new.

Photography is always about connecting with our environment and with aspects of it. What attracts one person, but is dismissed by another as being un-photogenic, is what ultimately leads each one of us to develop our own distinctive voice as an artist.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Different Pair

  1. Sue says:

    Well explained, Andy…I find myself of similar mind!

  2. You have an excellent eye Andy. Wonderful images.

  3. If that’s being a butterfly photographer, it’s a wonderful quality. I aspire to be a butterfly! Love your photos.

  4. Sallyann says:

    Love the phrase “butterfly photographer”, I’ve not heard it before but it’s perfect.
    As are the broken windows, I would gladly take them home and display them in some secret corner of my garden… And Hubby would despair. 😊

    • LensScaper says:

      Many Thanks Sallyann. It’s a term I first came across from a fellow UK photographer – Sid Pearce. I think many of us who are photographers are viewed with despair and frustration from our long suffering Spouses.

  5. on13blog says:

    I love ❤️ your work . Everyone different in their own way . Amazing work !

  6. Chillbrook says:

    I love the term butterfly photographer Andy and one of the reasons I enjoy your blog so much is the variety and nature of the photographs you ‘see’ that so many of us wouldn’t. These windows are fabulous.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Adrian for your kind comment. Sadly I think a lot of potential commenters start following my blog with a genre in mind (after seeing one or two posts) and then are somewhat discombobulated when I appear to go off at a tangent to something entirely different. The old line about not being able to please all of the people all of the time comes to mind.

  7. ❤ the term butterfly photographer.

  8. Robyn G says:

    This is a great post! Love the Butterfly description and I too find myself investigating many things 😃 Those doors are stunning.

Comments are closed.