Cafe Balcony

_ds84502There are some features of Zermatt that I photograph every time I visit, and this is one of them.

This is part of the frontage of the Heinz Julen designed Backstage Boutique Hotel in the centre of Zermatt. In the basement is a public cinema and the other levels include the hotel and an upstairs cafe which has this balcony area.

The light is always slightly different. The furnishing is precise, minimalist, and modern; and the glass is high-polished and reflective. It has all the elements of design that I find so appealing.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cafe Balcony

  1. shoreacres says:

    It’s interesting what appeals to different people. This isn’t a sight that I’d even notice, or stop to photograph. When I looked at it a little more closely, though, I found I was attracted to those glass tables, framed by the glass panels with the reflected clouds. I especially like the optical illusion that we’re looking through the glass panels to clouds behind them.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Linda. The Optical Illusion is important. This is a case where flat glass really does mean flat glass – the reflections are precise and true, and depending on the viewpoint chosen a mountain range comes into view in the windows further enhancing the concept of seeing ‘through’. One of my fascinations with reflective glass in city areas is that it creates inter-relationships with neighbouring buildings. But that concept is not confined to city areas it happens in villages, mountain resorts and even in the reflective glass of high mountain lift stations.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    This is somewhere I’d certainly like to spend some time with a cup of coffee. I love the way the reflection could just as easily be a view through to the other side of a very narrow balcony. As always Andy, you see what most of us might miss.

    • LensScaper says:

      This is quite a special building on the outside and the inside is pretty remarkable too. We’ve been in there a few times in recent years. Once, we got given a tour of the hotel – way beyond our pockets!

  3. Always very nice to take time to appreciate the surroundings

Comments are closed.