In the cool of the forest

_DS84942On a blue-sky day, as we have had today, it may seem strange to post an image from the forest. I captured a lot of images today that involved blue skies and ‘views’, but to do them justice and create stories I need to work on a bigger screen than the one with me, and dip into the archives: so those images will have to wait.

On a hot day it is very pleasant to finish with a cool walk down through quiet forest. During the last week there have been a few forest walks and on each occasion I have been on the look-out for that je ne sais quoi that sums up coniferous forest: straight trunks, a feeling of depth, and the filtering through of light. Sounds easy, but it isn’t. This is among the best yet found, the quest will continue.

Big day tomorrow: good weather promised, and I am heading high to somewhere new – with a view I have been searching for.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the cool of the forest

  1. Chillbrook says:

    It seems daft to say I love the vertical lines in this image Andy, it’s a forest but it’s images like this that really draw you inward. You want to explore more. Smashing photograph.

  2. shoreacres says:

    We may not have mountains, but we do have some forests, and this looks remarkably like the piney woods of east Texas. A closer look reveals the difference in the trees and the undergrowth, but still — straight trees, and no signs saying “stay on the path” is a great combination.

    • LensScaper says:

      Straight trees are a great sight, aren’t they Linda. You would not really want to wander off the path, the undergrowth conceals rocky terrain and you would be lucky to escape with your ankles intact!

Comments are closed.