After Rain

_DS84741After rain, low-lying clouds fill the valleys in a constant state of flux. Looking back down the valley my eye was attracted to the roof-lines echoing the ridge lines of the lower slopes of the Mischabel chain of mountains.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to After Rain

  1. shoreacres says:

    I really like the lines of this — the clean rooflines juxtaposed with the mountains is so attractive. It took me a minute to figure out the “things” atop the roofs. Finally, it occurred to me: it’s cold there. Those are fireplace chimneys. Or so I think.

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes, it gets cold out there in Switzerland in the winter and every building has heating and most have wood burning stoves – hence the chimneys. I have looked down the valley so often and never quite seen this image before – the low-lying clouds made all the difference.

  2. Dina says:

    Such glorious lines making giving this image the right contrast ! 🙂
    Our mutual friend Adrian has sharpened my sense for lines and you underline it. 😉
    Have a wonderful Sunday,
    stormy greeting from North Norfolk,
    Dina

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Dina. Lines can be so important but not in every image. It’s been a beautiful day here today – clear blue sky for the second half of the day.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Another great shot Andy! The natural and the man-made blending perfectly.

Comments are closed.