Early morning light

_DS84636Yesterday I caught a cable-car ride to Schwarzsee and this was one of the views that greeted me. Some mornings take your breath away.

The light had a softness to it and a thin veil of mist hung over the Findeln valley. And when I say early – this was ten in the morning – not early by many people’s standards.

For those who know the area, or may have seen previous images of this area in my blog entries, the view is of: Alphubel (Lt edge – flat topped), Allalinhorn (reduced to a pimple), Rimpfischhorn (the dark fin), Strahlhorn with the Adlerhorn (black thimble on its Rt ridge). The image finishes at Rt edge with the top winter lift station of Hohtälli. If you view an enlargement of this image, you will see the tall pylon on the skyline marking the trajectory of the large Cable-car gondola that carries skiers from low in the Findeln valley to that high summit. And this image comprises a small section of the total panorama. Turn through 180degress and you face the Matterhorn – more of that another day.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Early morning light

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    Fabulous.. you can almost taste the clean air.

  2. shoreacres says:

    There’s that muted green, and the wonderful gray-blue that I so enjoy. I’d be more than happy to be sitting around with morning coffee in that place. I’m not sure I could find any reason to move on — at least, for a while.

    • LensScaper says:

      The colours were beautiful, Linda, and the better for being unexpected. I could have sat there quite happily but I had a long climb ahead of me, so I snapped a few shots and headed off.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    That light really is gorgeous. I’m surprised to learn this was 10 in the morning but I guess in the mountains, things are different. Beautiful photograph Andy.

  4. Dina says:

    Beautiful light and a wonderful photo, Andy.

Comments are closed.