Guardians

_DS84591Switzerland is a Catholic country and it is common, wherever you are, to find a Crucifix. High in the mountains they may be placed at the site of a fatality, at lower altitudes they may be fixed to the side of buildings, or stand in prominent positions within communities. Their precise significance will vary depending on your set of beliefs. For me they feel like guardians.

This Crucifix is affixed to the side of a Hayloft a half-hour walk up hill out of Zermatt and I passed it yesterday, as I have done on a number of previous occasions. It always commands my attention. Seeing it in isolation, it is difficult to appreciate its scale and so I have included the second image to provide that important sense of scale.

_DS84594It is tiny – a few inches in size – yet it’s ‘presence’ is huge. Click on either image to see a larger version.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guardians

  1. Guardians…I like that Andy and the size of the two crucifixes I can see are interesting.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    Guardians indeed. Fascinating, this is a particularly interesting crucifix, it’s size notwithstanding Andy!

    • LensScaper says:

      It’s the colour that is such a stand-out feature. I don’t recall seeing one quite like it and its placement on very nearly black wood heightens its visibility.

  3. Len says:

    The second photo really puts it into perspective.

  4. shoreacres says:

    Do you happen to know if one or the other came first? I can imagine a story/reason for either coming first and the other following, but they’re both striking. We don’t have many crucifixes about, but crosses to mark the scene of accidents are too common. Now that I think about it, they’d make an interesting photo essay themselves. Some clearly are tended, and the decorations sometimes change according to the season.

Comments are closed.