Smokin’

_DS84525This is classic Matterhorn. Mist streaming off the edge of the Hornli Ridge with the East Face of the mountain to the left.

This is a mountain that changes its mood by the minute if not the hour. Today the mountain has been at times 90% clear, partly clouded, as above, and as I speak it no longer exists – the space occupied by the Matterhorn is blank as a rain cloud that has been threatening for the past hour or so has swept in, although down here in the village we remain dry.

Click on the image to see a better quality enlargement

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Swiss Alps - Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Smokin’

  1. I love the shape of this mountain. I have a similar image which I shot after completing the Haute Route. What I much prefer about your image is the green in the grass which is very natural. Mine looked very false and I hated it. Thanks for sharing.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for your comment. This is such an iconic mountain. I have been to Zermatt over twenty times stretching back over fifty years and I never tire of seeing this mountain on a daily basis on all its different moods. Greens are one of the hardest colours to get right, so I understand the problem. If you saw my blog of the Grand Combin a week or so ago you will realize I missed out on the last climb up over the Tete Blanche and down to the Schonbiel Hut on my version of the Haute Route.

  2. Sue says:

    A most enigmatic mountain….

    • LensScaper says:

      Enigmatic is a good word for it, Sue. It’s been a cloud magnet for part of today, as we have observed while moving around up high, with an occasional teasing reveal.

  3. shoreacres says:

    This has the feel of a vintage linen postcard. The clouds and the velvetry green (which looks more like lichen than grass) add to the delightful softening. I could sit there for quite some time, watching the light play across the mountain, and through the clouds.

    • LensScaper says:

      The light was very attractive, and I’ve been processing on a smallish laptop screen without my usual array of plugins. But…as I said, the mood is always changing up there and this was definitely one to catch.

  4. YOWZA. That is all. 🙂

  5. Chillbrook says:

    That shot brings back memories of my visit to Zermatt Andy! What a majestic mountain that is and a wonderful shot to match! 🙂

  6. Len says:

    What an amazing mountain. I can see why you love going back there Andy.

  7. A magnificent mountain, somewhere I hope to visit one day. Superb photograph.

Comments are closed.