Sea Gull

Common Gull

Common Gull

If you live not too far from the sea, then you will be familiar with the cry of the Sea Gull and used to seeing them soaring and wheeling through the air or sitting on roof tops.

And, of course, you will want to capture at least one on camera. Up until now, such an image was missing from my archive, but as of today that omission is rectified.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Animals and Wild Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sea Gull

  1. shoreacres says:

    People tend to consider them “just a seagull,” but they’re interesting birds. I haven’t captured one in flight yet, but the day will come. I was most interested in the white tips on the end of each wing. I’ve never noticed that before. I don’t know if I’ve been inattentive, or if that’s a mark of your gulls. In any event, lovely photo. Bird-against-sky is one of my favorite sorts of photo.

    • LensScaper says:

      You may well have a different species of Gull, but sometimes I think it is only when you freeze a bird in flight that you see all the markings and detail in the wing feathers etc. The blue sky was the perfect backdrop to this shot.

  2. Fantastic capture Andy!!! Congratulations! 🙂

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Superb photograph Andy! Not an easy capture by any means.
    This instantly brought to mind the cover of one of my favourite books of all time, Jonathan Livingstone Seagull by Richard Bach. If you have never read it, I can thoroughly recommend it. In fact, I really need to read it again. It was read to us at school by Mr Atkinson, the English teacher over a series of assemblies, he read superbly and the whole school was captivated. Not an inconsiderable feat in itself. I think it may well have contributed to my life-long love of flight. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      I haven’t read the book but it is also the title of an album by Neil Diamond which was the soundtrack to a film of the same name, which unsurprisingly I now know is a novella based on the book. Teachers who inspired us at school continue to inspire us into adult life.
      The image shows that I have finally mastered follow-focus in my Nikon. As I followed this and other birds the camera faithfully latched onto the bird in question. Result – superbly sharp images. And a blue sky too – shot on the same day I shot the previous seascape and cloud image.

  4. hmunro says:

    What a glorious image, Andy! I love everything about it: The evenness of the sky, the translucency of the bird’s flight feathers — and even the expression on its little bird-face. This is the image that comes to mind when I think “seagull,” but I’ve never managed to quite capture it. Well done!

  5. Such a simple and clear image. Really nice.

  6. seekraz says:

    It was incredible, and strange to me, that they would be so far inland…when I lived in Salt Lake City…but there they were…made it feel like I lived on the coast somewhere.

    Nice image, Andy. 🙂

Comments are closed.