Juxtaposition

IMG_8880If you have a slightly quirky sense of humour, then you notice oddities, strange juxtapositions, and the absurdities of everyday life. Most of it unintended.

I remember a sign that I spotted in a shoe shop window many years ago  that said: ‘buy one, get one free’. It was a sale offering two pairs of shoes for the price of one pair, but I saw the unintended absurdity implied in a literal interpretation of the slogan of buying a shoe and getting the other one of the pair free. The omission of the word ‘Pair’ had made all the difference.

DSC_3556_WPAnd so to today’s picture. I was attracted by the juxtaposition of the sign, which remains from a long-gone era when this was perhaps a store selling decorating materials, and the adjacent window frame, much in need of a coat of paint. This was taken in Paddington, London where I was waiting to meet up with my son to hear Don McCullin (the world-famous war photographer) talking about his life as a photographer. What I hadn’t realized at the time I took this image was that it was on the side of the building that housed the Frontline club where the event was held. It was a superb evening.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Juxtaposition

  1. Sue says:

    Hearing Don McCullin speak must have been a great experience- he is one of the photographers I most admire… And I like the juxtaposition, appeals to me sense of humour!

  2. Chillbrook says:

    These certainly made me smile Andy. I can imagine that the evening with Don McCullin was fascinating and absorbing. I wish I’d been there.

  3. Sallyann says:

    I like both pictures here, little smiles, just waiting to be seen. 😊

  4. shoreacres says:

    Paddington? Like, Paddington Station? Paddington Bear? I know it’s unbelievable, but I had no idea who Paddington Bear was, until a friend dragged me to the movie. Now, every time I hear that name, I remember that little guy sitting in the station…

    Taking words literally can lead to every sort of wonderful word play, as it did with the shoes. And I did laugh to see that “Paints” sign next to the window that so badly needed painting. Odd juxtapositions are often the heart of humor — even in photographs.

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes, Paddington as in Bear. A mile or two north west of the main West End (shopping centre) of London. Not somewhere I often visit, but new areas bring new surprises and new opportunities.

  5. sixpixx says:

    Haha, who enjoys a busman’s holiday! Well seen.

Comments are closed.