Ghostly Figures

_DS84428_WPToday’s image follows on from yesterday’s: another image spotted en passant. This time at the De La Warr Pavilion in Bexhill. I was actually supposedly engaged in looking round an exhibition recording the opening of the Pavilion in 1935 and its subsequent history. I glanced up to a line of windows high in a side wall and saw a shadowy figure through the frosted glass. Knowing the structure of the building, I realized he was outside up on the adjacent flat-roofed area. My interest was aroused. It was clearly a man – he was busily scratching his back. I waited patiently, he had a big itch.

What happens when you stand still and gaze upwards fixedly? Other people around you start to look up too, wondering what you are looking at (especially if you are toting something as obvious as a SLR camera). And as is so often the case they then look at you in a quizzical way as if to say – what’s interesting about that. All photographers will be used to that scenario. We are all thought slightly weird at times.

Three other figures joined the original figure – his family perhaps – which improved the composition, and I took my image. Happy, I moved on.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ghostly Figures

  1. Sue says:

    Aha! Photographers can be thought odd in the pursuit of an interesting shot!

  2. hmunro says:

    “I waited patiently, he had a big itch.” HA HA! I’m glad you outlasted the itch — and the curious looks — because you got a great and intriguing image out of it!

  3. shoreacres says:

    My first thought? “My, it’s humid this morning.” (I always can tell by the amount of condensation on the windows in the morning whether we’ve above or below about the 80% mark for humidity.) Funny how we impose our own, quite idiosyncratic meanings on images.

    • LensScaper says:

      It was hot, but not humid. One of the nice things about heading for the coast in the UK is that it may be darned hot inland at times, but at the coast you can usually reckon on a cool on-shore breeze. I think they frosted the windows to avoid them inside looking up, and those outside looking down.

  4. Great narrative. And, yes, I’ve had the experience. Love it when I can show or explain to people what I’m doing and they get it.

  5. Chillbrook says:

    An interesting shot and well spotted as always. I have to say that taking largely landscape photographs, people tend to ignore the chap with the tripod set up to face the beautiful view but I can imagine you would have been rather conspicuous under these circumstances Andy. Anything for an image though! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      I never carry a tripod, no matter where I am or what I am photographing. I just find it inhibits free movement and interrupts creative thinking

      • Chillbrook says:

        I can understand that Andy. I must admit I’m happy to go without my tripod a bit more often, that’s why I bought the Sony A7R. I’m just unable to hand hold the D800 now so the tripod is necessary for me. The A7R is much lighter and I have to say, I have felt quite liberated when using it. On my last trip to Iceland, I just took the Sony and used it for quite a few of the minimalist snow pictures I’ve taken. Although the photographs aren’t quite the quality of the D800, not too many people would pick up on that. You’d need to be in Photoshop pixel peeking to spot the difference. The sensors are the same size, the lenses are just not quite so good. The Sony goes everywhere with me now whereas whether to lug the D800 kit along just for a shopping trip for example was a big decision and it usually ended up staying at home. I’ve missed a lot of shots because of it. There’s a lot to be said for traveling light! 🙂

        • LensScaper says:

          The last time I went up to London with a Nikon body and three lenses my shoulder was really aching after a couple of hours of walking round. I need to find a replacement for my go-everywhere Canon G10 but I’m struggling. The G16 seems unavailable (?replacement due soon), and I have yet to find the right combination of qualities in a similar sized body. It needs a rangefinder for high altitude work – back screens are unusable for framing in bright light – and it has to be pocketable with a retractable lens with a zoom with a good reach – which rules out any of the fancier micro four-thirds or mirrorless cameras.

Comments are closed.