Synchronicity

_DS84359_WP…And so to something completely different. I’ve said it before and will no doubt say it again: you go somewhere really photogenic and find something that has nothing whatsoever to do with the place; an image just spotted, en passant. It’s not even an image that ’rounds out’ the story. It’s just a bit of eclectica, or perhaps nonsense.

This was shot at Hever where our daughter got married recently (click here for our memories of a wonderfully happy day). We dropped in again a week or so ago just for sentimental reasons, grabbed some new shots of the place, and then wandered into the area where there were plants for sale. My wife went on a hunt for a particular plant and I do what I normally do in situations like that: I muttered the words (silently of course) to myself – ‘so, where’s the picture?’

I didn’t have to look far. There was an elderly couple sitting on a bench nearby and I was attracted to their legs. I’d better re-phrase that – I noticed the way they were sitting – synchronously – while trying hard not to notice the concept of socks worn with sandals. I casually pointed the Nikon camera in roughly the right direction at hip height while looking elsewhere and pressed the shutter button not really expecting much.

However, I discovered later, by sheer fluke, that I had got a clean and sharp shot and here it is for your delectation.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Synchronicity

  1. Chillbrook says:

    Hmm, sandals with socks. I think this is a smashing image Andy, it’s fun, the tones are great and I really like the crop. Works really well in the square format.

  2. Sue says:

    I agree with Adrian, great crop, a fun shot. I had to smile at your antics in taking the shot! As for socks with sandals, the less said the better….

  3. shoreacres says:

    You only think socks with sandals is a bad look. Wait until you see socks with boat shoes.
    I really like the image. Fashion aside, I think it communicates the comfortable relationship that surely exists between these two, beautifully.

  4. Maybe we need to ask the Germans to weigh in about socks with sandals. Perhaps times have changed, but when I was briefly in Berlin in 1985, I wore sandals without socks—and received many dirty looks. Eventually, I noticed that everyone else was wearing socks with their sandals, even knee-length nylons turned down. I started wearing socks with my sandals there then.

    • BTW, I agree with Chillbrook about the tone of this photo. Love the muted colors.

    • LensScaper says:

      Interesting! Maybe they thought feet should never be seen unclothed – some Europeans are very particular. And feet are not always the prettiest parts of our body I suppose – especially when we are getting old and wrinkly with bunions and misshapen nails. But that could not have been true of your feet back in 1985 I am absolutely certain!

  5. Lynne Ayers says:

    I love this. Great capture. Gotta keep that eye roving. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Ghostly Figures | LensScaper

  7. sixpixx says:

    Love this shot. Agree with Shoreacres. I think it says a lot about the relationship between the couple – fashion connotes a certain age – and class. And the synchronicity of the pose suggests their familiarity with each other.

Comments are closed.