Looking up the staircase

_DS84445_WPThe De La Warr Pavilion staircase featured in a post earlier this year (click here to view it). We were back there again last week on a glorious summer’s day and I was irresistibly drawn back to the staircase that is the central internal feature of this Art Deco building in Bexhill on the South coast.

From whichever angle you view it, this staircase is a delight to the eyes. This is the view up. It feels as is it floats in space, a collection of graceful lines and a central light column with no visible means of support.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Looking up the staircase

  1. Val Goldfinch says:

    Love this one! Beautiful composition,

  2. Chillbrook says:

    Fantastic image Andy! I love Art Deco and what a fantastic example. Perfectly framed, the light leading your eye.. superb!

  3. That’s a great photo, I love this perspective!

  4. Sue says:

    Great image, Andy! I love Art Deco…must visit this place! I am trying to work out how far it is from the station, or if it is easy to park around there….

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Sue – many thanks for your comment. Parking is very easy, immediately behind the pavilion, and even on a hot day last week there were spaces at lunchtime. The station is abut half a mile away. It is well worth a visit, good food too and places to sit on the balconies outside. Might get busier in school holidays of course.

  5. shoreacres says:

    I’ve never seen an image that’s both completely understandable and so remarkably abstract at the same time. Not only is the place beautiful, your image captures so many interesting details: especially the color and light level variations.

    One thing caught my eye — a tiny black “dot” in the middle of the photo, to the left of the bottom disk of the light fixture. Is that a part of the railing? I might have been tempted to remove it, just to complete the “clean” feel of the image. At least for me, it seems a distraction. I had to work a bit to stop staring at it, and look at the image as a whole. This may be a result of growing up with a mother who was an obsessive house-cleaner. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      You have managed to put into words what I couldn’t, Linda. The elements are part of the whole, and yet individually they have individual attractiveness. It is a remarkable structure that a single image struggles to describe.
      Oh! the Black spot. You are right, it is part of the railing but I should have removed it as it is an unwelcome intrusion. As a slightly obsessive person myself, I’m not sure why I didn’t do it.

  6. You did an excellent job of abstracting this staircase. The image is pleasantly off-balance and asymmetric.

  7. Lynne Ayers says:

    Another well framed image. Shoreacres said it well.

  8. Great framing, Andy!

Comments are closed.