Roof Light

IMG_8592For today’s Post we are still at Hever Castle (scene of last week’s wedding), but my Eye has shifted up to the ceiling and the decorative framing to the roof lights.

The first image was taken on a previous visit to Hever when we were sizing up the venue. I didn’t adjust the white light setting with the result that the image is warmer that it was in reality, but I liked the warmth and made no correction.

IMG_8762The second shot was taken on the day of the wedding from my place at the top table waiting for everyone to get seated for the start of the meal. I just glanced up, leaned back a fraction and shot. The sky was a perfect blue and the image is more about the pattern of the framing.

No matter what the occasion, one’s Eye will always stray from the main subject, or reason for being there, and see the unexpected detail that adds that little bit extra to the overall record of the occasion.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Roof Light

  1. shoreacres says:

    I like the warmth and simplicity of the first photo, but the second is my favorite. The asymmetry is appealing, as is the view into that clear, blue sky. Somehow, it seems a fine wedding day photo — not artificially perfect, but unusual enough to be memorable.

    It’s good that you leaned back only a fraction. I had a sudden image of you going over backwards from the dais. That would have been a bit too much spontaneity.

    • LensScaper says:

      Hard to beat a blue sky as background, and colour-wise it fits the day perfectly. As to leaning backwards on chairs, I have more than once gone too far and landed on the floor with a loud clatter, but not on the wedding day!

  2. Chillbrook says:

    The framing of the second photo Andy is perfect. I love the way you find these little details and capture them. Great to see that perfect clear blue sky adding that touch of colour that brings the photo alive.

    • LensScaper says:

      Sorry, I’m late in replying to your comment, Adrian. Blue seemed such a natural colour to see through a roof light, and it must have been gone 7pm when I spotted that above my head. I thought it made a nice contrast to the other one taken earlier in the year

  3. I agree with Adrian. You really have an eye for those little details. In this case, my favourite is the first one. I just love how the pattern of the roof light floats in space.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Otto. The first time I stood in this space I liked the way the interior lighting defined each span of the ceiling within which the roof lights were positioned. It took me a while to find the angle I wanted and it the image became almost an abstract.

Comments are closed.