Two of the Same

_DS75579Whatever we photograph, whether it be a Landscape, a Building or something else, you can almost guarantee it won’t look the same when you re-visit.

Two years have elapsed since my first view of this building – pictured above – on Southbank, a five-minute walk from Tate Modern. It impressed me the first time I saw it by its layered structure and when I passed by it again very early this year I took the opportunity to capture it a second time (image below). In the interim someone has installed something to be proud of, growing on their balcony – an incursion of the countryside into the urban environment. The light was dull and the processing was designed to emphasize that de-saturated feel with the grass dominating the balcony and sited on the intersection of thirds.

IMG_8399_1I don’t normally care too much for the laws of composition but I’m finding that judges at Camera Clubs are keen to focus on issues such as compositional correctness and sadly some pay little or no attention to the concept of viewing images at an emotional level and so periodically I have to try to behave myself,  but it won’t last – I will always be a maverick at heart.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Two of the Same

  1. hmunro says:

    What a striking difference between the two images! It’s a perfect example of the choices we make, based on what we want to show — and I very much like the little tuft of grass you’ve shown us here, amid all the glass and concrete. Nicely done.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    What a difference the light makes. Despite photographing on a dull day I like the image you’ve created. I think the desaturated look works really well.
    I know you’ve a lot going on at the moment Andy but I was wondering if you’d received my emails

  3. shoreacres says:

    I’m just getting caught up after my long weekend away and busy work week, and very much appreciate this post: not only for the photos, but also for that subtle word of advice that, whatever we photograph, it’s almost certain not to be the same when we revisit.

    I wasn’t at all happy with some of my landscapes from the trip, and was doing a little agonizing over it — this was the best year for wildflowers I’ve ever seen. I almost was tempted to turn around and head back to the hills, even though I knew that, given four days of sun and heat, the flowers would be turning. Thanks for making me feel better about staying put and processing what I do have!

    I very much like that second image. Just out of curiosity, did you happen to try cropping it so that the lower, reflective windows aren’t included? I just blocked them out with my hand, and the feel of the photo seemed quite different.

    • LensScaper says:

      Good to hear from you Linda. Landscapes of wild flowers often look so much better with the naked eye than through the camera’s eye because our own eye adds emphasis to elements to what we see, whereas the camera equally weights everything. Nothing beats fields of wild flowers – something I love about visits to the European Alps.
      About the crop – I took a while to work out a crop that I liked and I tried the one that you suggested but I felt that cropping the bottom off including the windows resulted in an image that was over-dominated by silvery-grey colours, or although it also simplief the image further. The other factor that came into my thinking was that I like to follow the dictum that images work well when they have a solid base – meaning darker colour – at their foot. At the end of the day though, we all have our own approach to what ‘works’ – it’s as individual as the images we find.

  4. sixpixx says:

    I do like the desaturated one best – and as for camera club judges – I’m quite new to the world of camera clubs but I hope I never shoot to please them – I’m beginning to believe they’re a fickle breed 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Colour doesn’t have to shout to be heard. Competitions are part of the life blood of camera clubs, we had an exceptionally good judge at Horsham’s Photographic Society (to give it it’s correct name) last night. You are quite right – shoot and show what you believe in. The benefits from seeing a range of other photographers’ work, and hearing a judge’s comments, are related primarily to the inspiration of seeing their work. Even with a mediocre judge there will always be some points worth listening to, but don’t take criticism of your own work too harshly.

Comments are closed.