Natural Patterns

_DS84107Life has been a little frantic in the last few weeks as we prepare for a wedding – hence the sporadic posting. It’s some time since we visited the coast, and recent ‘outings’ have been mainly to visit gardens and to tame our own one – which has resulted in quite a bit of new planting.

It’s been hard back-aching work and there hasn’t been enough time to process the images captured. However, here are few on a theme. The natural world is full of natural patterns and these, sometimes, are accentuated by the planting that gardeners undertake.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Garden Plants and Wild Flowers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Natural Patterns

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Beautiful stuff, Andy, especially the main image. Adrian

  2. Chillbrook says:

    I love these Andy, they work so well together. I recognise the geranium and the hosta of course but the other two have me stumped. I hope all is going well with the wedding preparations!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Adrian. I am equally stumped – should have checked for a tag telling me the species (that often happens in gardens). One good thing about ‘the wedding’ is that we are not having to organise it, but even so there is a lot to think about and prepare for.

  3. hmunro says:

    Each of your images is lovely on its own — but together? Striking! Nicely done. Best wishes with the wedding preparations!

  4. v4vikey says:

    Amazing stuff…. Nature’s creativity:-)

  5. shoreacres says:

    The patterns remind me of William Morris prints, particularly the top one. As a set, they complement one another beautifully. Could it be that a garden wedding is in the offing? Perhaps it’s only the spiffing up that new homeowners do. In any event, you certainly transformed some of that labor into beautiful images.

    • LensScaper says:

      We love William Morris – his designs had a timeless quality to them. I have to admit that these images do not come from my own garden but from a National Trust garden and another well known garden (not telling you which). We are spiffing up (what a great word that is) our own garden but not for the purposes of a wedding, merely to bring some interest into it. Recently we have been delighted and surprised by the blooming of Rhodedendrons. They grow wild in the Himalayas and a man called Joseph Dalton Hooker (we believe we share a common ancestor in the sixteenth century), who was curator of Kew Gardens, was in part responsible for their popularisation in the western world. I must get round to posting an image or two of those currently growing in our garden.

      • shoreacres says:

        Have you ever come across Dorothy Draper’s work at the Greenbrier Resort over here? She called it “Romance and Rhododendrons” and went all out, believe me. Here’s an article pulled at random. I had a couple of place settings of the dishes for a while — beautiful greens and pinks.

        • LensScaper says:

          Wow – ‘shout out loud’ decorating with hints of Art Deco. An insightful read, thanks Linda, for pointing me to that article. A quite extraordinary story.

  6. You have some excellent compositions here. There is sufficient repetition to make the pattern obvious but its not so perfect as to look false. I now also know that someone else goes around looking for patterns in the natural world. I can tell my wife I’m not alone.

    Great tones in the primary image also.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks for those kind words, Robin, and welcome to my blog. Pattern and Geometry are two words that often drive my photography whether in the natural world or the man-made one. I took a look at your blog too and am now signed up to ‘follow’. I’m looking forward to some more images from your recent trip to the USA.

  7. A series of lovely photos. I particularly like the intricate pattern of the featured photo. Beautifully done, Andrew.

    • LensScaper says:

      Many thanks Otto. This is a good time of year to prowl round a well looked after garden before the leaves and flowers start to look a little sad.

  8. Wonderful series of photos, Andy. Hope the new planting and taming of your garden has gone well?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Simon. The first year in a new garden is always going to be a revelation. Arriving in late November it looked as dead as a Dodo. But each month has brought surprises. We’ve done quite a lot of new planting – hard back-breaking work in soil that is predominantly heavy clay – but have been delighted to discover the blooming of Rhododendrons and the imminent blooming of Hydrangeas.

Comments are closed.