Gargoyle

IMG_8534Not a classical gargoyle high up on one of our Cathedrals but sited just below the rim of an ornamental fountain in Nymans Gardens, and it was definitely a gargoyle. On the day this image was shot the water was not flowing, but on our next visit it was trickling out between the over-developed lips of this face –  there were four faces, almost identical, around the rim.

It reminded me of Miss Piggy from The Muppet Show.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure, Country Houses & Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gargoyle

  1. Chillbrook says:

    Superb range of tone and texture Andy and definitely Miss Piggy-ish! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Glad I’m not the only one to spot the resemblance. Another example of the ability of Nik’s Silver Efex to squeeze the maximum from an image.

  2. I can see Miss Piggy, too, although I think this gargoyle is way more interesting. You captured it beautifully. And the processing really brings out all the details and the texture of fountain. I agree with Adrian above, the range of tones is excellent.

  3. shoreacres says:

    That’s one of the most expressive eye-rolls I’ve seen recently — even though she is a little stone-faced. 🙂

    I really do like what you do with that Nik Silver Efex — so much so that I went ahead and downloaded it. It’s going to be ages before I’m ready to use any of the suite, but given that it’s free, and that I have Lightroom and PS Elements to attach it to: why not? My first task is sorting through my archives, and dumping all the truly bad/unnecessary/duplicate photos before I import them. One step at a time. At least I have a computer that can handle all these programs. Whether I can is yet to be seen.

    • LensScaper says:

      You won’t regret those purchases, Linda, I’m quite sure. Silver Efex can be very easy to use.You should have a direct link to the plug-in from within Lightroom or PS Elements and you can then simply scroll the lengthy display of thumbnails and find one you like. Many of the options will not be to your taste but there will always be one that really gives an image a ‘lift’. I rarely make further adjustments in Silver Efex except perhaps to add a frame or toning. Whatever you do is reversible so you can experiment happily. Good luck with it and I look forward to seeing an image or two in time.

  4. Len says:

    Very cool face with lots of detail.

  5. sixpixx says:

    Very nicely processed 🙂

Comments are closed.