On Holmbury Hill

IMG_1670_WPThe weather has turned wet and cooler – I said Summer wouldn’t last – and in sympathy with the change of weather, this photo was taken earlier in the year on my iPhone when the weather was a lot colder.

Richard (son and heir), plus daughter’s dog, and me went for a walk up Holmbury Hill at the beginning of March. Holmbury Hill is about three miles due west of Leith Hill – already visited twice  – once in cloud (click here) and once on a perfect winter’s day (click here). It’s possible to walk from one hill to the next, something I hope to do before too long

So what sort of weather did we have on Holmbury Hill? It was overcast, and rain was a possibility – we thought. Less than five minutes after this shot was taken, just as we crested the summit, we were hit by a blizzard of snow. All over in five minutes or so and then life resumed as usual. The dog seemed unperturbed.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Winter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On Holmbury Hill

  1. Great shot Andy, pity about the blizzard though 🙂

  2. What a great composition. And how nice to have a son and granddog at the ready. I also like that there’s just that tiny bit of color.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. It’s good to be closer to our son and daughter. We lost our King Charles spaniel quite a few years ago now and still miss him. It’s nice to have a dog to stay without being permanently responsible for him. A bit like having a grandchild.

  3. Lisa Gordon says:

    What a great silhouette this is, and I really love the composition too.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    Fabulous photograph Andy!

Comments are closed.