On a Summmer’s Day

_DS75281_WPThe temperature yesterday in the south of the UK was hotter than Athens, Madrid and Rome. Summer has come unexpectedly early, but rain is on its way. These events remind me of a quote attributed to King Charles II: ‘The English summer is three fine days and a thunderstorm’.

Three summers ago I visited the Ansel Adams exhibition at Greenwich on a hot summer’s day and took this image. I processed it deliberately to try to evoke the feel of a day like that when the light seems too strong, particularly when you emerge from a darkened exhibition space and your eyes take time to adjust to the blinding outdoor light with the colour drained away.

Click on the image to see a higher quality enlargement.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to On a Summmer’s Day

  1. Sue says:

    I like this….definitely evokes the feeling of bright, blinding light!

  2. Lignum Draco says:

    Nice shot. Love the use of reflections here.

  3. shoreacres says:

    You’ve really captured that light. There is something about summer light that’s of a different quality. It’s one way I know when summer is here, regardless of temperature — and the change is coming.

    • LensScaper says:

      One thing we have noted also is how the light seems to change as you approach the Coast. I think you live near the coast? – do you notice that too?

  4. Love the artistic eye that saw this as a potential composition. And bold to put the person at the very right border. Well done!

    • LensScaper says:

      Totally wrong, according to the purists, to place a figure that close to the right edge, but she helps as a ‘full stop’ to the image and prevents the eye from drifting out of the image. Glad you liked that element, Frank. No-one else has commented on that…

  5. Chillbrook says:

    A really interesting juxtaposition of people and reflection, I like it very much Andy. Bright harsh light is certainly not my favourite for photography but this goes to prove there’s always a picture. Something I discussed in my last post tackling a very dull grey day with very low flat light. Two sides of the same coin.

  6. sixpixx says:

    I like the treatment of this photo very much. It seems to allow a closer focus on the subject without distractions of loads of colour.

  7. Pingback: Shoreham Quarry and Cement works | Six Pixx

Comments are closed.