Spring has Sprung

_DS84037April was a real mixed bag of weather from warmth to snow and a profusion of April Showers – sunshine one minute, pouring rain the next. How trees, plants and flowers make sense of this is a mystery but they do, although sometimes they misjudge and get frost-nipped. May has now arrived and the temperature is set to climb sharply as the week progresses.

I haven’t got out as much as I would have liked to record the arrival of Spring this year – moving to a new area means that the best woods for photography need to be discovered and investigated and that takes time.

_DS83984However we do have areas of woodland very close to where we live – a small bluebell wood is a two-minute walk away, and a nature reserve can be reached by car in five minutes and those are the locations of today’s images._DS84034

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spring has Sprung

  1. Lignum Draco says:

    Lovely photos, particularly the last.

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m always taken by the multitude of greens that emerge in spring. Green isn’t “just” green, and your photos prove it. With even a quick glance, I can count eight shades of green: enough to keep any photographer happy!

    • LensScaper says:

      You’ve highlighted what for me is the stand-out quality of Spring, Linda. There is such a broad palette of greens. It’so sad that its never long before that variety is lost and all the greens seem to become homogenised and the landscape loses some of its sparkle.

  3. Nice set Andy, it is also nice to have a bit of sun on our backs too – although I don’t know how long that will last 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks SP. At the moment the weather is lasting although up north I don’t think you are faring as well as we are down south. What a joy it is to get rid of a sweater and roll up one’s shirt sleeves!

  4. I love the how the dark tones in your bluebell wood set off the flowers, making them—for me—a kind of surprise in the composition. Very nicely composed.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. This is just a few steps from our house. I have yet to find a bluebell wood as good as the ones we had further north, but it took us many years to find them so I can’t expect to find a good one in the first Spring down where we are now.

  5. Merryn says:

    I really love the out of focus background on the final one – the unfurling leaves are stunning but there’s something really fascinating about that background, it’s almost like looking down through slightly moving water

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment Merryn and welcome to my Blog. I use a long lens for a lot of my Spring images and this image is shot looking up into the canopy and that results in a lot of out-of-focus elements.

  6. Chillbrook says:

    Makes one feel good doesn’t it Andy? Lovely photographs.

    • LensScaper says:

      Spring is sprung and the heat has been so welcome. Spring seems to have taken me by surprise this year and I really haven’t got out like I normally would. By next Spring hopefully I will have a few favourite woods to visit and be able to capture more of the wonder of Spring unfurling.

Comments are closed.