Moving round the arena

_DS83865Last Friday I spent a very enjoyable afternoon with my son at the Velodrome in the Olympic Park, London. Images from that event are currently being processed and there will be a post of a selection of images of the ‘action’ later this week.

As is so often the case on a photo shoot my focus of interest shifted from the main event to what else was worth capturing and I noted people moving around the building high up above the seating, silhouetted against the windows. Periodically I captured family groupings on the move and this was the best of a bunch.

Wherever we go as photographers there will be images that are specifically of that place – images that document exactly where we are, whether it is a resort, a place, a building or a landscape. But if we detach ourselves, even momentarily, from that objective, we will find other images (just as valuable, sometimes more so) that although taken at that place are not identifiably of it. Let your gaze shift and allow your mind to drift away from the primary objective: you may be surprised by what you see.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Moving round the arena

  1. Sue says:

    Love it! Great silhouettes, and as you say in your prose, they are not ‘of’ that place, but great images found by letting your creative eye travel…

  2. oneowner says:

    Good point, Andy. It’s important to try to see as many photographic opportunities as possible beyond the obvious documentary style. This shot is a case in point. Very nice.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. Curiosity is an essential quality if we are to make the most of any place we visit. You and I have discussed this before I know in our conversations. I find that it’s not unusual that the unexpected images taken ‘at’ a place are cherished more than those ‘of’ that place.

  3. shoreacres says:

    What you say about these “accidental” images is so true. I’ve thought a good bit about a question I’m often asked: “How do you find so many things to write about?” I’ve decided it’s the difference between fishing with a rod and reel for a particular fish, like a trout, and trawling with a net. In the first instance, you’re going after what you want, and ignore everything else. In the second, you just scoop up what’s “there,” and sort it out later. With a trawl net, there always are some surprises — like this fine photo.

    • LensScaper says:

      I like that analogy Linda. I’m reminded of the phrase ‘cast your net wide’. Photography is about casting our eyes wide and being able to go ‘off-subject’. And you are right, the unexpected finds are often very welcome surprises and can be more valuable than what we originally went looking for.

  4. Len says:

    You certainly have a knack for these silhouette photos Andy. I always find them quite intriguing.

Comments are closed.