Art on the Pier

IMG_8449

Art by Caroline Woodward

Art can be found in unexpected places and photographing it can produce intriguing results.

We were in Worthing recently and walked out into the pier. Running down the centre of the pier was a barrier made largely of glass or clear acrylic perspex and set within framed ‘windows’ within the barrier were items of art from local artists. Many of the windows were unfilled allowing a view through.

IMG_8451

Art by Naomi Frances

There was a cold wind blowing and so we only walked down one side of this barrier and didn’t spend a lot of time there but I shot a few images of items that interested me and we came home.

Sitting in front of the computer, processing the images during the last few days, I have been intrigued by the juxtaposition of the art and the views through neighbouring empty frames to snatches of the coast beyond or the lights along the pier. I now realise that I captured a lot more than I thought I had. And isn’t that often the case?

I’ve also had an opportunity to Google ‘Art on Worthing Pier’ and I now have information on Creative Waves, which is the body behind this exhibition. Click the link for more detail.

IMG_8452

Art by Janice Thurston

We shall definitely return for a closer look on a warmer day. And I am pleased that I am now able to identify the major items pictured here and can therefore provide proper attribution to the artists concerned.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Art on the Pier

  1. Val Goldfinch says:

    What a lovely idea, wish we had a pier in Towcester!

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Val. Thanks for your comment. Sadly the River Tove isn’t wide enough for a pier! Every town really should have a gallery space for its local artists – there’s a project for you!

  2. shoreacres says:

    Here’s a sign of how things are in the U.S. just now. I saw that second photo, read the captions as “VOTE, fox, hare” and thought, “Do we have to have politics thrust in everywhere?” Good grief.

    I love the photos, the art, and the concept. And I think you’re right that the juxtaposition of framed reality and framed art is delicious. What fun it is to come home, upload, and discover treasure waiting!

    • LensScaper says:

      Politics have gone mad your side of the pond, Linda. Maybe by the time we get to November the contest will be between ‘Beauty and The Beast’!
      I’m looking forward to re-visiting this site, and from what I read there will be a change of gallery in a month or two. Sitting in front of the computer and finding something in an image that wasn’t seen at the moment it was shot is always a bonus, and now that I have a concept I will be in a better position next time to find some stronger compositions.

  3. Len says:

    Great concept well executed Andy.

Comments are closed.