Becoming Familiar_2

IMG_8466_wpA few weeks ago I posted an inverted image of a tree that I pass on my daily walk to buy the newspaper and in that Post (click here to view it) I wrote: ‘There will be other images of this tree I am quite certain’.

There was very heavy rain a few nights ago and the large pool of water surrounding this tree re-appeared. On that occasion it was not the reflection of the tree itself that attracted my attention but the reflection of the trees nearby. I captured a few images and back home immediately inverted them and picked the best one to process. For comparison click here to see the original from which this image is derived.

 

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Landscapes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Becoming Familiar_2

  1. oneowner says:

    I like the idea of shooting the same subject at different times. It’s a good series project and I always find them interesting.

  2. shoreacres says:

    This is just wonderful. What can be done with images in post-processing is part of the artistic process, too, and I always enjoy seeing your work. As I’m learning, it’s especially fun when the post-processing can be for effect, rather than a desperate attempt to correct for errors in exposure, focus, and so on.

    I must say, both the trees and the sky provide a sense of the dramatic, here. It’s hardly “just a tree reflected in a puddle.”

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. The post-processing was in itself an experiment. I wanted something dramatic and ended up with something which to my eye is a bit edgy and perhaps sinister. The curved edge to the original ‘pond’ also helps the composition – it feels like it must be taken with an ultra-wide lens but definitely wasn’t – just my faithful Canon G10 compact

  3. This is very striking, Andy. Aside from the reflections, the line created by the saturated edge of the pond is a real draw too.

Comments are closed.